Levins Finishes Fifth on a World Stage in Boston
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/05/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

BOSTON, Mass. - Feb. 5 - Southern Utah's Cameron Levins raced at the international level at the New Balance Grand Prix on Saturday, earning an eighth-place world ranking with a fifth-place finish in the 3,000-meter run.

"It's awesome," Levins said in a Flotrack interview. "It's so cool going to Nationals in such a good position. It makes me feel really confident."

Levins' 7:45.75 finish shaved about three seconds off his previous top NCAA record of 7:48.25, also setting a new school record for Southern Utah. 

Levins was the first non-African athlete to finish, racing behind runners like Dejen Gebremeskel of Ethiopia and Silas Kiplagat of Kenya. He finished ahead of U.S. athlete Matthew Centrowitz, who earned a bronze medal in the 1,500-meters at the 2011 IAAF World Championship.

Levins will continue to compete with the T-Birds in the indoor season, preparing for the Summit League Championship and NCAA Nationals.

The New Balance Indoor Grand Prix will be shown on ESPN2 on Sunday from noon to 2 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 25
@ Big Sky Conference Championships
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
() Results
Fri. Feb. 13
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
() Results
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Don Kirby
2015 Indoor Track & Field
() Results
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Husky Classic
2015 Indoor Track & Field
() Results
Fri. Jan. 30
@ UW Invite
2015 Indoor Track & Field
() Results
Wed. Feb. 25
@ Big Sky Conference Championships
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 13
@ NCAA Indoor Nationals
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 20
@ UNLV
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Thu. Mar. 26
@ Riverside Invitational
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 3
@ San Francisco
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 3
@ Stanford
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Sat. Apr. 11
@ Pamona Pitzer Invitational
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Thu. Apr. 16
@ Mt. Sac Relays
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 17
@ Bryan Clay Invite
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App