41 BB games
Levins Finishes Fifth on a World Stage in Boston
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/05/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

BOSTON, Mass. - Feb. 5 - Southern Utah's Cameron Levins raced at the international level at the New Balance Grand Prix on Saturday, earning an eighth-place world ranking with a fifth-place finish in the 3,000-meter run.

"It's awesome," Levins said in a Flotrack interview. "It's so cool going to Nationals in such a good position. It makes me feel really confident."

Levins' 7:45.75 finish shaved about three seconds off his previous top NCAA record of 7:48.25, also setting a new school record for Southern Utah. 

Levins was the first non-African athlete to finish, racing behind runners like Dejen Gebremeskel of Ethiopia and Silas Kiplagat of Kenya. He finished ahead of U.S. athlete Matthew Centrowitz, who earned a bronze medal in the 1,500-meters at the 2011 IAAF World Championship.

Levins will continue to compete with the T-Birds in the indoor season, preparing for the Summit League Championship and NCAA Nationals.

The New Balance Indoor Grand Prix will be shown on ESPN2 on Sunday from noon to 2 p.m.

Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 3rd
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet - CANCELED
() More Info
Fri. Apr. 25
@ BYU Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 18
@ Bryan Clay Invitational
() Results
Thu. Apr. 17
@ Mt. SAC Relays
() Results
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Pomona-Pitzer Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ San Francisco State Distance Carnival
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ Stanford Invitational
() Results
Thu. Mar. 27
@ UC Riverside Spring Track Classic
() Results
Fri. Mar. 14
@ NCAA Indoor National Championship
() Results
Fri. Mar. 7
@ UNLV Track Classic
() Results
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App