SUU Gymnastics Signs Three for 2013-14
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 11/19/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University gymnastics has announced three additions to the team, beginning in the 2013-14 season. The trio includes Danielle Ramirez (Corona, Calif.), Sydney Townsend (North Salt Lake) and Memory Shettles (Snellville, Ga.).

Ramirez is a two-time national qualifier, finishing in the top 25 of the all-around in 2012 in addition to a 4th-place finish on vault. At the 2012 regional championship, Ramirez recorded a top-10 finish on all five events, including 2nd-place finishes on vault, floor and in the all-around and a 4th-place finish on bars.

"Danielle is a tall, elegant gymnast and is an incredibly good vaulter," Bauman said. "She has great lines on bars, competes at a high level on beam and is beautiful to watch on floor."

Townsend was an NIT qualifier in 2012 and came away with a pair of top-five finishes on vault and beam. She advanced to the NIT by way of an 8th-place all-around finish at the regional meet which included a 4th-place finish on vault and 7th-place finish on beam. Prior to her regional appearance, Townsend captured the 2012 Utah state level 10 all-around title.

"Sydney is a little powerhouse," Bauman said. "She is a very solid vaulter, a consistent bar worker and really just a very good athlete who doesn't have a weak event anywhere."

Shettles was also an NIT qualifier in 2012, capturing top-10 finishes on all five events, including a 3rd-place finish on floor and a 2nd-place finish in the all-around. Prior to the NIT's, Shettles finished in the top 10 on all five events at the regional meet with an 8th-place finish in the all-around. At the Georgia state level 10 meet Shettles claimed an individual title on floor en route to a 4th-place all-around finish that also included a 2nd-place finish on beam and a 5th-place finish on vault.

"Memory is a gymnast who just comes out and hits routines," Bauman said. "She is super consistent and will bring a high level of difficulty to our floor team."
Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Jan. 9
@ Arizona State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 23
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Mon. Feb. 2
vs. Ball State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 6
vs. Utah State w/ San Jose St.
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Utah State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 27
vs. Denver
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App