Sorensen A Payton Award Finalist

November 21, 2012
By SUU Strategic Communication

Related Links

Courtesy: SUU Strategic Communications

CEDAR CITY, Utah, Nov. 21 - Southern Utah University quarterback Brad Sorensen has been named one of 20 finalists for the Walter Payton Award, The Sports Network has announced. The Payton Award is given to the outstanding offensive player at the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision every year.

Sorensen, a senior quarterback from Grand Terrace, Calif. (BYU/San Bernardino College/Colton HS) became Southern Utah's career leader in every passing and total yards category this year and he leaves the school with all but two single-season passing and total yards marks as well as many single-game records. This past season he completed 273-of-439 pass attempts for 3,139 yards and 23 touchdowns. The Great West Conference Offensive MVP in 2011, Sorensen finished second in the Big Sky in total yards, passing yards per game and passing touchdowns per game this past season.

He ranks among the FCS leaders in every statistical category, including 10th in completions per game (24.82), 11th in passing yards per game (285.36) and total passing yards (3,139), 16th in total offense (278.55 ypg) and 20th in points responsible for (14.0 ppg).

Despite playing just three seasons he is also listed among the active career top-20 in every passing category, including fifth in total passing yards (9,445), yards per game (286.2), completions per game (24.9) and attempts per game (38.0); sixth in passing attempts (1,254) and completions (822); eighth in completion percentage (65.55), ninth in passing touchdowns (61), and 15th in passer efficiency (140.56).

In the career total yards categories he ranks fifth in plays per game (44.1) and yards per game (282.7), sixth in total plays (1,456), yards (9,328), 13th in TDs responsible for (67) and 19th in yards per play (6.41).

Sorensen was also a Payton Award finalist last year. His inclusion in the list this season gives SUU a Payton Award finalist in each of the past three seasons, as wide receiver Tysson Poots earned the distinction in 2010.

-- SUU --