41 BB games
SUU Men's Tennis Still Looking for Opening Win After Loss at UNC
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/21/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
GREELEY, Colo. - Southern Utah University men's tennis is still in the hunt for its first victory of the year after suffering a 7-0 defeat at Northern Colorado on Thursday morning. The loss drops the T-Birds to 0-4 on the year.

Freshmen Troy Benson and Bryton Wells matched their best finish on the year in doubles, winning three games at No. 1. However, the duo lost the match 8-3.

Benson later returned at No. 1 singles and turned in his best individual performance, winning four games in a 6-1, 6-3 loss to Northern Colorado's Ben Gendron. Alex Dial matched the four games at No. 3 singles, falling 6-2, 6-2 to UNC's Jordan Loughnan.

The match marked the first of five that Southern Utah will play over the next five days. The Thunderbirds will next face Idaho State on Saturday in a non-conference match-up at the Darling Tennis Center in Las Vegas, Nev.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah University vs Northern Colorado
Mar 21, 2013 at Greeley, Colo.

Northern Colorado 7, Southern Utah University 0

 Singles competition
1. GENDRON, Ben (UNC) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU) 6-1, 6-3
2. KNIGHT, Mitchel (UNC) def. WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 6-0, 6-2
3. LOUGHNAN, Jordan (UNC) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU) 6-2, 6-2
4. CARLSON, Jeff (UNC) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
5. MOYA, Michael (UNC) def. NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
6. SHELDON, Jacob (UNC) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 6-1, 6-0

 Doubles competition
1. LUPO, Brandon/GENDRON, Ben (UNC) def. BENSON, Troy/WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 8-3
2. SCHUERMANS, Eric/KNIGHT, Mitchel (UNC) def. DIAL, Alex/NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 8-2
3. FAITH, Jordan/SHELDON, Jacob (UNC) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 8-1
Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 11
@ Idaho State
1:00 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 9
@ Eastern Washington
3:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 28
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Idaho State
Darling Tennis Center
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Seattle
Darling Tennis Center
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 23
@ Grand Canyon
Darling Tennis Center
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 21
@ UNLV
3:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 12
vs. Montana State
12:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 10
@ Portland State
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State
3:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App