41 BB games
SUU Women's Tennis Continues Winning Streak at UND
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/06/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
GRAND FORKS, N.D. - Southern Utah University women's tennis ran its winning streak to four matches with a 6-1 victory at North Dakota on Saturday. The win moves the T-Birds to 9-5 on the year and 4-2 in Big Sky Conference play and drops UND to 3-14 and 0-8 in conference.

SUU swept each of the doubles matches with the No. 2 and No. 3 pairings posting 8-4 victories. Veronika Rogova and Anastasiia Vasileva captured the win at No. 2, their sixth consecutive victory in as many matches with Afton Staheli and Madeline Skaras picking up the win at No. 3. Olya Kunz and Alex Ivanova earned their victory by dispatching North Dakota's Stephanie Biehn and Stephanie Petsis 8-5 at No. 1 doubles.

Kunz, Rogova, Skaras and Vasileva all returned in singles to post straight-set victories at No. 1, No. 3, No. 4 and No. 5, respectively. Ivanova was stretched to three sets after taking the first, 7-5, and then falling 4-6 in the second at No. 2 singles. The junior wrapped up her match by taking the third-set super tiebreaker 11-9.

Southern Utah will be back in action next weekend with another Big Sky Conference test against Northern Arizona on Friday, April 12. That match is scheduled to be played at the Enchantment Resort in Sedona, Ariz.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah vs North Dakota
April 6, 2013 at Grand Forks, N.D.
(Choice Health and Fitness Center)

Southern Utah 6, North Dakota 1

 Singles competition
1. KUNZ, Olya (SUU) def. PETSIS, Stephanie (UND) 6-0, 7-5
2. IVANOVA, Aleksandra (SUU) def. RONKOWSKI, Callie (UND) 7-5, 4-6, 1-0 (11-9)
3. ROGOVA, Veronika (SUU) def. BIEHN, Stephanie (UND) 6-4, 6-0
4. SKARAS, Madeline (SUU) def. SWEEN, Megan (UND) 6-4, 6-2
5. VASILEVA, Anastasiia (SUU) def. STEJSKAL, Sarah (UND) 6-0, 6-1
6. LAWRENCE, Mindy (UND) def. STAHELI, Afton (SUU) 7-6 (7-5), 7-5

 Doubles competition
1. KUNZ, Olya/IVANOVA, Aleksandra (SUU) def. BIEHN, Stephanie/PETSIS, Stephanie (UND) 8-5
2. ROGOVA, Veronika/VASILEVA, Anastasiia (SUU) def. RONKOWSKI, Callie/STEJSKAL, Sarah (UND) 8-4
3. STAHELI, Afton/SKARAS, Madeline (SUU) def. SWEEN, Megan/LAWRENCE, Mindy (UND) 8-4

Match Notes:
Southern Utah 9-5 (4-2)
North Dakota 3-14 (0-8)
Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
(L) 3 -4
Sun. Apr. 13
@ Eastern Washington
(W) 5 -2
Sat. Apr. 12
vs. Seattle
(W) 5 -2
Fri. Apr. 11
@ UNLV
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Apr. 6
@ Weber State
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Apr. 5
@ Idaho State
(L) 2 -4
Wed. Mar. 26
vs. Air Force
() Rained Out
Tue. Mar. 25
vs. Seattle
Bally's Tennis Complex
(W) 4 -3
Sat. Mar. 22
vs. Montana State
(W) 4 -3
Fri. Mar. 21
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(W) 5 -2
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Mar. 15
@ Sacramento State
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Portland State
(L) 2 -5
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App