2015 Big Sky Champions
Thunderbirds Fall to Vikings in Home Finale
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/19/2013
Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University men's tennis dropped its final home contest of the 2013 season 7-0 to Portland State on Friday afternoon.

Portland State took the doubles point after sweeping all three matches to begin the afternoon. Southern Utah's No. 1 pairing of Troy Benson and Bryton Wells had the closest match, falling 8-4 to Portland State's team of Connor Gilmore and Lukas Kortus.

The Vikings wrapped up the competition with straight-set victories in each of the singles matches. Alex Dial, playing at No. 3 singles, and Russ Christensen, playing at No. 4 singles, had their best showings of the year despite falling 6-3, 6-3 in their respective matches.

Southern Utah will close out its 2013 season with a match at North Dakota on Sunday. The contest will feature both first-year Big Sky Conference programs with both teams also sponsoring men's tennis for the first time this season.

Tennis Match Results
Portland State vs Southern Utah University
Apr 19, 2013 at Cedar City, Utah
(Thunderbird Tennis Courts)

Portland State 7, Southern Utah University 0

 Singles competition
1. BECHMANN, Antoine (PSU) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU) 6-3, 6-0
2. KORTUS, Lukas (PSU) def. WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 6-0, 6-1
3. MISHRA, Abhinav (PSU) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU) 6-3, 6-3
4. MARX, Alec (PSU) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ (SUU) 6-3, 6-3
5. RISENHOOVER, Ian (PSU) def. NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
6. LUBEK, Zach (PSU) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 6-0, 6-0

 Doubles competition
1. GILMORE, Connor/KORTUS, Lukas (PSU) def. BENSON, Troy/WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 8-4
2. BECHMANN, Antoine/RISENHOOVER, Ian (PSU) def. DIAL, Alex/NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 8-2
3. MISHRA, Abhinav/MARX, Alec (PSU) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 8-2

Match Notes:
Order of finish: Doubles (3,2,1); Singles (6,5,2,1,4,3)
Sat. Apr. 23
@ UNLV
400 p.m.
Fri. Apr. 22
vs. Montana State
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 9
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 1
vs. Sacramento State
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 1
vs. University of Northern Colorado
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 25
vs. North Dakota
(L) 3 -4
Thu. Mar. 24
vs. Montana
12:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 22
vs. Idaho State
11:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 20
@ Idaho State
TBA
Sat. Mar. 19
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 11
@ Portland State
TBA
Wed. Mar. 9
@ Idaho
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Colorado Mesa
10:00 a.m./2:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 5
@ Utah State
11:00 a.m.
Tue. Jan. 19
@ Boise State
TBA
Twitter
Facebook