2015 Big Sky Champions
Thunderbirds Fall to Vikings in Home Finale
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/19/2013
Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University men's tennis dropped its final home contest of the 2013 season 7-0 to Portland State on Friday afternoon.

Portland State took the doubles point after sweeping all three matches to begin the afternoon. Southern Utah's No. 1 pairing of Troy Benson and Bryton Wells had the closest match, falling 8-4 to Portland State's team of Connor Gilmore and Lukas Kortus.

The Vikings wrapped up the competition with straight-set victories in each of the singles matches. Alex Dial, playing at No. 3 singles, and Russ Christensen, playing at No. 4 singles, had their best showings of the year despite falling 6-3, 6-3 in their respective matches.

Southern Utah will close out its 2013 season with a match at North Dakota on Sunday. The contest will feature both first-year Big Sky Conference programs with both teams also sponsoring men's tennis for the first time this season.

Tennis Match Results
Portland State vs Southern Utah University
Apr 19, 2013 at Cedar City, Utah
(Thunderbird Tennis Courts)

Portland State 7, Southern Utah University 0

 Singles competition
1. BECHMANN, Antoine (PSU) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU) 6-3, 6-0
2. KORTUS, Lukas (PSU) def. WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 6-0, 6-1
3. MISHRA, Abhinav (PSU) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU) 6-3, 6-3
4. MARX, Alec (PSU) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ (SUU) 6-3, 6-3
5. RISENHOOVER, Ian (PSU) def. NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
6. LUBEK, Zach (PSU) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 6-0, 6-0

 Doubles competition
1. GILMORE, Connor/KORTUS, Lukas (PSU) def. BENSON, Troy/WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 8-4
2. BECHMANN, Antoine/RISENHOOVER, Ian (PSU) def. DIAL, Alex/NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 8-2
3. MISHRA, Abhinav/MARX, Alec (PSU) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 8-2

Match Notes:
Order of finish: Doubles (3,2,1); Singles (6,5,2,1,4,3)
Fri. Feb. 5
@ Utah State
11:00 a.m.
Tue. Jan. 19
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 8
@ BYU
5:30 p.m.
Thu. May. 14
@ NCAA Championship
ALL DAY
Fri. May. 8
@ NCAA First and Second Round
TBA
Fri. Apr. 24
@ Big Sky Championship
TBA
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Colorado Mesa
10:00 a.m./2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 9
vs. Idaho
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 11
vs. Portland State
TBA
Sat. Mar. 19
vs. Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 20
vs. Idaho State
TBA
Tue. Mar. 22
vs. Idaho State
TBA
Thu. Mar. 24
vs. Montana
12:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 25
vs. North Dakota State
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Apr. 1
vs. University of Northern Colorado
1:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook