41 BB games
Women's Tennis Earns Three All-Conference Honors
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 05/03/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University women's tennis has had three players named to a trio of all-conference teams as announced by the Big Sky Conference.

The list is headlined by junior Alex Ivanova who was named first-team all-Big Sky after finishing her season with a team-best 16-3 record, including a perfect 10-0 mark during the conference season. Her season total also included a 13-match winning streak stretched over No. 2 and No. 3 singles.

Senior Olya Kunz earned her third all-conference honor of her career after picking up second-team all-Big Sky accolades. Kunz had been a two-time all-Summit League honoree prior to Southern Utah's move into the Big Sky Conference this year. She finished the season with a 10-10 record, playing all but two matches at No. 1 singles.

Ivanova and Kunz teamed throughout the year at No. 1 doubles, finishing the 2013 campaign with an overall mark of 9-11.

The final honor was given to freshman Veronika Rogova who picked up an honorable mention nod. Rogova opened her inaugural campaign on a three-match winning streak and earned Southern Utah's only Big Sky Player of the Week award. The freshman finished the season with an overall record of 14-5 split over No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3 singles.

Rogova led all players with 14 doubles wins during the year, teaming with Madeline Skaras for a 5-3 mark and Anastasiia Vasileva for a 9-2 record all at No. 2 doubles.
Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
(L) 3 -4
Sun. Apr. 13
@ Eastern Washington
(W) 5 -2
Sat. Apr. 12
vs. Seattle
(W) 5 -2
Fri. Apr. 11
@ UNLV
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Apr. 6
@ Weber State
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Apr. 5
@ Idaho State
(L) 2 -4
Wed. Mar. 26
vs. Air Force
() Rained Out
Tue. Mar. 25
vs. Seattle
Bally's Tennis Complex
(W) 4 -3
Sat. Mar. 22
vs. Montana State
(W) 4 -3
Fri. Mar. 21
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(W) 5 -2
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Mar. 15
@ Sacramento State
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Portland State
(L) 2 -5
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App