Cam Bowerman header
Nate Jewkes Headed to NCAA National Championships
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 05/23/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Find complete results here.

AUSTIN, Texas - Southern Utah University's Nate Jewkes will be headed to the NCAA National Championship in a couple of weeks after a sixth-place qualifying time of 30:07.04 on Thursday night at the NCAA first round hosted by the Univerisity of Texas.

The berth will mark the second consecutive year that Southern Utah will be represented in the event after All-American Cam Levins won the race in 2012. Jewkes entered the NCAA first round race ranked No. 7 in the West and needed to finish in the top 12 to clinch a spot in the national championships.

In other races on the day, sprinters Shaun Murray and Preston Myers missed out on qualifying marks in the men's 100-meter dash. Murray was fractions of a second off the pace, missing the cut by .007 seconds after finishing his heat with a time of 10.50. Three other competitors also finished with the same time and the deadlock was broken after breaking the marks to the thousandths of a second. Myers finished his heat with a time of 10.67, but will be back tomorrow in the men's 200-meter dash.

Myers will be joined on the track during the day by Kodai Kusano in the men's 110-meter hurdle preliminaries and Cedar City's Shaye Maurer-Springall in the qualifying heats of the womens' 100-meter hurdles.

Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 3rd
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet - CANCELED
() More Info
Fri. Apr. 25
@ BYU Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 18
@ Bryan Clay Invitational
() Results
Thu. Apr. 17
@ Mt. SAC Relays
() Results
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Pomona-Pitzer Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ Stanford Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ San Francisco State Distance Carnival
() Results
Thu. Mar. 27
@ UC Riverside Spring Track Classic
() Results
Fri. Mar. 14
@ NCAA Indoor National Championship
() Results
Fri. Mar. 7
@ UNLV Track Classic
() Results
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App