Three T-Birds Earn Pre-Season All-Sky Honors

July 15, 2013
By SUU Strategic Communication

Related Links

Courtesy: SUU Strategic Communications

CEDAR CITY, Utah, July 15 – Three Southern Utah football players have been named to the 2013 Pre-Season All-Big Sky team. Offensive lineman Gavin Farr, wide receiver Fatu Moala, and kicker Colton Cook all earned a spot on the 31-player squad, the conference announced today.

Farr, a senior from South Ogden, Utah, who has played both center and guard for the Thunderbirds, is a three-time all-conference performer and a pre-season all-American. Last year he earned first-team all-Big Sky honors and he was a two-time first-team all-Great West Conference honoree, earning Offensive Lineman of the Year honors as a redshirt freshman in 2010.

Moala, a senior from Kearns, Utah, was a second-team all-Big Sky selection last year after leading the Thunderbirds with 65 receptions for 810 yards and nine touchdowns. He led the team in receptions, receiving yards and touchdowns and ranked among the nation’s leaders in receptions per game (5.91, 35th), receiving yards per game (73.64, 40th) and total receiving yards (40th). He ranked fifth in the Big Sky in both receptions and receiving yards per game.

Cook, a senior from Bountiful, Utah, also earned second-team all-Big Sky honors as well as second-team All-American recognition from the Associated Press last season after leading the Thunderbirds with 86 points, an average of 7.91 points per game. Cook hit 19-of-22 field goal attempts and 30-of-33 extra points and also averaged 60.4 yards per kickoff. He finished the season second in the nation in field goals with 1.73 per game and 26th in overall scoring, which was third in the BSC and second among kickers.

The Montana schools swept the major pre-season awards, as Montana State quarterback DeNarius McGhee was named Offensive MVP while Montana linebacker Jordan Tripp earned the Defensive MVP nod.

Northern Arizona led all schools with six players on the team, while defending champion Montana state had four. Southern Utah, Montana, Cal Poly and Eastern Washington each had three selections and all 13 schools had at least one player on the squad.

The complete team follows:

Offensive MVP – DeNarius McGhee, Sr., QB, Montana State

Defensive MVP – Jordan Tripp, Sr., LB, Montana


QB            DeNarius McGee                Sr.                    Euless, Texas                           Montana State

RB            Zach Bauman                 Sr.                    Chandler, Ariz.                       Northern Arizona

RB            Cody Kirk                  Sr.                    Frenchtown, Mont.                 Montana State

FB            Dalton Turay                  Jr.                    Pleasanton, Calif.                    UC Davis

OG            Tyler Worthley               Sr.                    Dublin, Calif.                          Sacramento State

OG            Gavin Farr                    Sr.                    South Ogden, Utah                 Southern Utah

C            Mitch Gaulke                Sr.                    West Linn, Ore.                      Portland State

OT            Danny Kistler               Sr.                    Seattle, Wash.                         Montana

OT            Giovanni Sani              Sr.                    Modesto, Calif.                       Cal Poly

WR            Greg Hardin                Sr.                    Bellevue, Neb.                        North Dakota

WR            Tanner Bleskin            Sr.                    Great Falls, Mont.                   Montana State

WR            Morris Norrise             Sr.                   Berkeley, Calif.                       Sacramento State

WR            Fatu Moala               Sr.                    Kearns, Utah                           Southern Utah

TE                   R.J. Rickert                 Jr.                    Gilbert, Ariz.                           Northern Arizona

K                     Colton Cook                Sr.                    Centerville, Utah                     Southern Utah

Ret.                 Greg Hardin                Sr.                    Bellevue, Neb.                        North Dakota


DE                   Zack Wagenmann            Jr.                    Missoula, Mont.                      Montana

DE                   Brad Daly              Sr.                    Helena, Mont.                         Montana State

DT                   Sullivan Grosz              Sr.                    Fresno, Calif.                         Cal Poly

DT                   Tim Wilkinson             Sr.                    Las Vegas, Nev.                      Northern Arizona

OLB                Jordan Tripp                Sr.                    Missoula, Mont.                      Montana

OLB                Trevor Spence               Sr.                    Aberdeen, Idaho                     Idaho State

ILB                 Ronnie Hamlin              Sr.                    Lacey, Wash.                          Eastern Washington

ILB                 Clarence Bumpas               Sr.                    Colorado Springs, Colo.            Northern Colorado

ILB                 Anthony Morales             Sr.                    Edmond, Okla.                       Weber State

CB                   Anders Battle                Sr.                    Phoenix, Ariz.                         Northern Arizona

CB                   T.J. Lee III                   Sr.                    Seattle, Wash.                         Eastern Washington

S                      Lucky Dozier                 Sr.                    Sacramento, Calif.                  Northern Arizona

S                      Allen Brown                 Sr.                    Tacoma, Wash.                        Eastern Washington

P                      Andy Wilder                  Sr.                    Scottsdale, Ariz.                     Northern Arizona

ST             Chris Judge              Sr.                    Westlake Village, Calif.            Cal Poly

-- SUU --