Utes Pull Away from Southern Utah, 6-2
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 09/08/2013
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
SALT LAKE CITY, Utah, 9/8/13 – Southern Utah (2-3-0) took a 6-2 road loss at the University of Utah Sunday (2-1-2) afternoon. Sydney Cook and Christine Meehan each tallied their first goals of the year late in the match, but the Utes had already pulled away thanks to two scores from both Baylee Nielsen and Katie Taylor.

Utah took control early on with a goal from Ashton Hall less than five minutes in and then went on to add three more scores in the opening half to build a 4-0 advantage at the break. Nielsen tallied her first goal of the match in the 18th minute and Taylor came up with back-to-back scores in the 21st and 29th minutes to put the Utes out in front.  

The Utes added to their lead when Nielsen recorded her second score in the 63rd minute and Allie Wisner tapped in a shot in the 74th minute to stretch the advantage to 6-0.

The Thunderbirds broke through just a few moments later on a score by Cook as the sophomore forward snuck a shot past the goalkeeper to put Southern Utah on the board. Meehan then converted a penalty kick in the final minutes to set the final count at 6-2.

Utah held a 19-9 shooting advantage in the match, as well as an 8-5 edge on corner kicks. Elyssa Hashimoto played the first 45 minutes in goal for SUU before being replaced by Tessa Christensen who turned in six saves in the second half.

Jenny Hutton was credited with three assists in the match, while Katie Rigby, Megan Taggert and Ali Forsberg set up the other three goals for the Utes.

Southern Utah continues its three-game stretch against Pac-12 opponents next week with a trip to the Arizona Cats Classic in Tucson, Ariz. The Thunderbirds will open play against the University of Arizona on Friday at 8:00 p.m., before taking on Arizona State on Sunday at 12:00 p.m. (MT). Coverage of SUU soccer is available at www.suutbirds.com.

Fri. Aug. 15
vs. Red vs. White Preview
4:00 p.m.
Mon. Apr. 14
vs. Colorado Mesa
2013 Spring Season
12:30 p.m.
Mon. Apr. 14
vs. Colorado
2013 Spring Season
9:00 a.m.
Sun. Apr. 13
vs. Wyoming
2013 Spring Season
3:30 p.m.
Sun. Apr. 6
vs. Salt Lake United - WPSL
2013 Spring Season
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 30
@ Dixie State
2013 Spring Season
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Aug. 22
vs. Dixie State
4:00 p.m.
Sun. Aug. 24
@ UCSB
1:00 p.m.
Sun. Aug. 31
vs. CSU Bakersfield
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Sep. 5
@ UTEP
6:00 p.m.
Mon. Sep. 8
@ Utah Valley
7:30 p.m.
Fri. Sep. 12
vs. Grand Canyon
NAU Tournament
5:00 p.m.
Sun. Sep. 14
vs. Wright State
NAU Tournament
12:00 p.m.
Fri. Sep. 26
vs. Sacramento State
4:00 p.m.
Sun. Sep. 28
vs. Portland State
12:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App