Thunderbirds Fall to Arizona State
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 09/15/2013
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
TUCSON, Ariz., 9/15/13 – Southern Utah (2-5-0) wrapped up play at the Arizona Cats Classic with a 4-0 loss to Arizona State (5-2-0) on Sunday. Sundevil forward Cali Farquharson collected two goals in the match to bring her total to nine on the season. The Thunderbirds finish a stretch of three straight matchups with Pac-12 opponents with three consecutive losses.

Arizona State’s first strike came in the 13th minute as Devin Marshall assisted Farquharson who went one-on-one with SUU goalkeeper Elyssa Hashimoto and was able to find the back of the net. Holland Crook then converted a penalty kick late in the half to stretch the margin to 2-0 at the break.

Sara Tosti added another score halfway through the final period and Farquharson picked up her second score a few minutes later to set the final count at 4-0 in favor of the Sundevils.

ASU outshot the T-Birds 20-6 in the contest, but corner kicks were even for both side at 2-2. Hashimoto made seven saves in the match while freshman Katie Jones led SUU with two shots, both of which came on goal.

Southern Utah opens up a four-game homestand next week by hosting UC Riverside on Friday at 1:00 p.m. Coverage of SUU soccer is available at www.suutbirds.com.

Fri. Aug. 15
vs. Red vs. White Preview
4:00 p.m.
Mon. Apr. 14
vs. Colorado Mesa
2013 Spring Season
12:30 p.m.
Mon. Apr. 14
vs. Colorado
2013 Spring Season
9:00 a.m.
Sun. Apr. 13
vs. Wyoming
2013 Spring Season
3:30 p.m.
Sun. Apr. 6
vs. Salt Lake United - WPSL
2013 Spring Season
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 30
@ Dixie State
2013 Spring Season
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Aug. 22
vs. Dixie State
4:00 p.m.
Sun. Aug. 24
@ UCSB
1:00 p.m.
Sun. Aug. 31
vs. CSU Bakersfield
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Sep. 5
@ UTEP
6:00 p.m.
Mon. Sep. 8
@ Utah Valley
7:30 p.m.
Fri. Sep. 12
vs. Grand Canyon
NAU Tournament
5:00 p.m.
Sun. Sep. 14
vs. Wright State
NAU Tournament
12:00 p.m.
Fri. Sep. 26
vs. Sacramento State
4:00 p.m.
Sun. Sep. 28
vs. Portland State
12:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App