Barrus Earns BSC Athlete of the Week after UC Riverside Finish
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 09/17/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah – Sept. 17 – SUU Cross Country runner Ryan Barrus earned a nod from the Big Sky Conference this week, garnering an Athlete of the Week award after a second-place individual finish at the UC Riverside Invitational.

Barrus led the Thunderbirds to a second-place team finish on Saturday, crossing the finish line in second place with a time of 24:04.8 in the 8k. While Central Arizona’s Harry Mulenga won the race with first-place time of 22:58.7, Barrus’ time broke into Southern Utah’s records on the course, ranking second behind Cameron Levins’ 2011 time of 22:58.7.

The Thunderbirds will take a three-week break from competition before hosting the annual Color Country Invitational in Cedar City on Oct. 4. A small squad of T-Birds will travel to South Bend, Ind., for the Notre Dame Invitational, also set for Oct. 4.

Sat. Oct. 3
@ UNLV Invitational
All Day
Fri. Oct. 2
@ Joe Paine Notre Dame Invite
2:00 p.m.
Sat. Sep. 26
@ Roy Griak Invitational
Sat. Sep. 12
@ UC Riverside Invite
Fri. Sep. 4
@ Idaho State Duel
Sat. Nov. 22
@ NCAA National Championships
() 22nd/31
Sat. Oct. 10
vs. SUU Color Country Invite
9:00 a.m.
Sat. Oct. 17
@ Pre-Nationals
Sat. Oct. 31
vs. Big Sky Conference Championships
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Nov. 13
@ NCAA Mountain Regional
Sat. Nov. 21
@ NCAA National Championships