Barrus Earns BSC Athlete of the Week after UC Riverside Finish
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 09/17/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah – Sept. 17 – SUU Cross Country runner Ryan Barrus earned a nod from the Big Sky Conference this week, garnering an Athlete of the Week award after a second-place individual finish at the UC Riverside Invitational.

Barrus led the Thunderbirds to a second-place team finish on Saturday, crossing the finish line in second place with a time of 24:04.8 in the 8k. While Central Arizona’s Harry Mulenga won the race with first-place time of 22:58.7, Barrus’ time broke into Southern Utah’s records on the course, ranking second behind Cameron Levins’ 2011 time of 22:58.7.

The Thunderbirds will take a three-week break from competition before hosting the annual Color Country Invitational in Cedar City on Oct. 4. A small squad of T-Birds will travel to South Bend, Ind., for the Notre Dame Invitational, also set for Oct. 4.

Sat. Nov. 22
@ NCAA National Championships
() 22nd/31
Fri. Nov. 14
@ NCAA Mountain Regionals
() 4th/17
Sat. Nov. 1
@ Big Sky Conference Championship
() 2nd/12
Sat. Oct. 18
@ NCAA Pre-Nationals
() 34th/46
Fri. Oct. 10
vs. Color Country Invitational
() 1st/5
Fri. Oct. 3
@ Notre Dame XC Invitational
() 6th/24
Sat. Sep. 12
@ UC Riverside Invite
TBA
Fri. Sep. 18
@ UVU Invitational
TBA
Sat. Sep. 26
@ Roy Griak Invitational
TBA
Fri. Oct. 2
@ Joe Paine Notre Dame Invite
TBA
Sat. Oct. 3
vs. SUU Color Country Invite
TBA
Sat. Oct. 17
@ Pre-Nationals
TBA
Sat. Oct. 31
vs. Big Sky Conference Championships
TBA
Fri. Nov. 13
@ NCAA Mountain Regional
TBA
Sat. Nov. 21
@ NCAA National Championships
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App