2013 Season Review
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 10/28/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

The 2013 Southern Utah University soccer season came to a close with the Thunderbirds winning two of their final four games to finish the year with a Big Sky Conference record of 3-5-1 to go along with an overall mark of 6-11-1. The six victories collected by SUU is its highest total in four years and also represents its fourth best mark in 13 seasons as a program. The Thunderbird roster featured a young but talented group as the team welcomed in 13 freshmen to start the season, but it grew together as evidenced by the following records and statistics achieved by Southern Utah in 2013.

2013 SUU Soccer Notes

•    A total of 15 different Thunderbirds scored a goal during the 2013 season, with seven   
     of  those student-athletes recording multiple goals.


•    SUU freshmen accounted for nine of the team’s 26 goals, 12 of its 17 assists and 97 of  
     its 227 shots.


•    Sophomore midfielder Nancy Brich led the team with four goals and nine total points.

•    The 67 corner kicks attempted by Southern Utah in 2013 matches the second-highest
     season total in program history.


•    The Thunderbirds collected three shutouts in 2013, matching the fourth-highest total in
     team history.


•    The 2013 Thunderbird team set a new program record by attempting and successfully
     converting three penalty kicks.


•    The 26 goals and 69 points racked up by the Thunderbirds in 2013 match the third best
     marks in team history. Southern Utah also collected 17 assists to equal is fourth highest
     total ever.


•    The Thunderbirds four goals against UCSB will go down among the top-five
     single-game scoring performances in the SUU record books.


2013 Statistics

 

Sun. Sep. 28
vs. Portland State
(W) 2 -0
Fri. Sep. 26
vs. Sacramento State
(W) 2 -1
Sun. Sep. 14
vs. Wright State
NAU Tournament
(W) 1 -0
Fri. Sep. 12
vs. Grand Canyon
NAU Tournament
(W) 2 -1
Mon. Sep. 8
@ Utah Valley
7:30 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 3
vs. Idaho
4:00 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 10
@ Northern Colorado
7:00 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 12
@ North Dakota
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Oct. 17
vs. Eastern Washington
4:00 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 19
vs. Montana
12:00 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 24
@ Idaho State
4:00 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 26
@ Weber State
12:00 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 31
@ Northern Arizona
7:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App