2015 Big Sky Champions
Kovar Claims Big Sky Field Award for the Third Consecutive Week
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/12/2014
Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Feb. 11 - SUU senior Kayla Kovar earned her third consecutive Big Sky Field Athlete of the Week award after recording a top-five NCAA Division I mark in the shot put last weekend at the Mountain T's Invitational.

The California native shot up to a fourth-place national ranking with a mark of 55-10.25, and will likely go on to represent Southern Utah at the national championship in March. Kovar would be assured a position at the national championship if ranked in the top 16 at the end of the regular season. The senior also set a new all-time record for Southern Utah with her performance at NAU, improving her previous record of 53-6.25 by more than two feet.

Kovar will be back in Seattle, Wash., this weekend, hoping to continue improving her marks at UNM's Don Kirbey Elite Invitational on Friday and Saturday.

Fri. Jan. 29
@ Mountain T's Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 29
@ UW Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Sat. Jan. 16
@ Lumberjack Team Challenge
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 15
@ Snake River Open/Multi
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Wed. Jun. 10
@ NCAA National Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Thu. May. 28
@ NCAA West Regional Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Don Kirby Elite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Husky Classic
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 19
@ NAU Tuneup
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Feb. 25
@ Big Sky Indoor Championships
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 11
vs. NCAA Indoor Nationals
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 18
@ UNLV Spring Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Mar. 24
@ UCR Spring Classic
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ Stanford Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ San Francisco
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook