Cam Bowerman header
Kovar Claims Big Sky Field Award for the Third Consecutive Week
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/12/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Feb. 11 - SUU senior Kayla Kovar earned her third consecutive Big Sky Field Athlete of the Week award after recording a top-five NCAA Division I mark in the shot put last weekend at the Mountain T's Invitational.

The California native shot up to a fourth-place national ranking with a mark of 55-10.25, and will likely go on to represent Southern Utah at the national championship in March. Kovar would be assured a position at the national championship if ranked in the top 16 at the end of the regular season. The senior also set a new all-time record for Southern Utah with her performance at NAU, improving her previous record of 53-6.25 by more than two feet.

Kovar will be back in Seattle, Wash., this weekend, hoping to continue improving her marks at UNM's Don Kirbey Elite Invitational on Friday and Saturday.

Fri. Jan. 30
@ ISU Mountain State Games
2015 Indoor Track & Field
() Results
Fri. Jan. 30
@ NAU Mountain T's Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
() Results
Fri. Jan. 30
@ UW Invite
2015 Indoor Track & Field
() Results
Fri. Jan. 16
@ NAU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 9
@ BYU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Wed. Jun. 11
@ NCAA National Championship
() Kovar (HT, DT, SP)
Fri. Feb. 13
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Husky Classic
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Don Kirby
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Wed. Feb. 25
@ Big Sky Conference Championships
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 13
@ NCAA Indoor Nationals
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 20
@ UNLV
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Thu. Mar. 26
@ Riverside Invitational
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 3
@ San Francisco
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App