Men's Tennis Falls in Season Opener
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/09/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Southern Utah University men's tennis opened its 2014 campaign on Sunday, suffering a 7-0 defeat at Sacramento State.

Troy Benson recorded the most games for the Thunderbirds, capturing six over the course of singles and doubles competition. The sophomore fell 6-0, 6-2 at No. 1 singles and paired with freshman Blair Robbins at No. 1 doubles, falling 8-4. Benson's match was also the final contest to wrap up during the day.

Southern Utah will next play at Portland State on Monday night.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah vs Sacramento State
Mar 09, 2014 at Sacramento, Calif.
(Rio Del Oro Racquet Club)

Sacramento State 7, Southern Utah 0

Singles competition

1. BRANDYS, Roy (SAC) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-2
2. RAM, Niranjan (SAC) def. ROBBINS, Blair (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
3. MILLER, Tom (SAC) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-1
4. MARQUEZ, Joaquin (SAC) def. STORY, Ammon (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
5. ANDERSEN, Oliver (SAC) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
6. ABDULWAHAB, Ayman (SAC) def. JOHN, Mitchell (SUU-M) 6-1, 6-1

Doubles competition

1. ANDERSEN, Oliver/RAM, Niranjan (SAC) def. BENSON, Troy/ROBBINS, Blair (SUU-M) 8-4
2. BRANDYS, Roy/ABDULWAHAB, Ayman (SAC) def. DIAL, Alex/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU-M) 8-1
3. MILLER, Tom/MARQUEZ, Joaquin (SAC) def. JOHN, Mitchell/STORY, Ammon (SUU-M) 8-2

Match Notes:

Southern Utah 0-1, 0-1
Sacramento State 4-9, 2-2
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3,1); Singles (5,4,3,2,6,1)
Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 11
@ Idaho State
1:00 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 9
@ Eastern Washington
3:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 28
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Idaho State
Darling Tennis Center
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Seattle
Darling Tennis Center
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 23
@ Grand Canyon
Darling Tennis Center
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 21
@ UNLV
3:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 12
vs. Montana State
12:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 10
@ Portland State
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State
3:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App