2015 Big Sky Champions
Men's Tennis Falls in Season Opener
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/09/2014
Print RSS
SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Southern Utah University men's tennis opened its 2014 campaign on Sunday, suffering a 7-0 defeat at Sacramento State.

Troy Benson recorded the most games for the Thunderbirds, capturing six over the course of singles and doubles competition. The sophomore fell 6-0, 6-2 at No. 1 singles and paired with freshman Blair Robbins at No. 1 doubles, falling 8-4. Benson's match was also the final contest to wrap up during the day.

Southern Utah will next play at Portland State on Monday night.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah vs Sacramento State
Mar 09, 2014 at Sacramento, Calif.
(Rio Del Oro Racquet Club)

Sacramento State 7, Southern Utah 0

Singles competition

1. BRANDYS, Roy (SAC) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-2
2. RAM, Niranjan (SAC) def. ROBBINS, Blair (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
3. MILLER, Tom (SAC) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-1
4. MARQUEZ, Joaquin (SAC) def. STORY, Ammon (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
5. ANDERSEN, Oliver (SAC) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
6. ABDULWAHAB, Ayman (SAC) def. JOHN, Mitchell (SUU-M) 6-1, 6-1

Doubles competition

1. ANDERSEN, Oliver/RAM, Niranjan (SAC) def. BENSON, Troy/ROBBINS, Blair (SUU-M) 8-4
2. BRANDYS, Roy/ABDULWAHAB, Ayman (SAC) def. DIAL, Alex/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU-M) 8-1
3. MILLER, Tom/MARQUEZ, Joaquin (SAC) def. JOHN, Mitchell/STORY, Ammon (SUU-M) 8-2

Match Notes:

Southern Utah 0-1, 0-1
Sacramento State 4-9, 2-2
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3,1); Singles (5,4,3,2,6,1)
Sat. Apr. 23
@ UNLV
400 p.m.
Fri. Apr. 22
vs. Montana State
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 9
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 1
vs. Sacramento State
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 1
vs. University of Northern Colorado
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 25
vs. North Dakota
(L) 3 -4
Thu. Mar. 24
vs. Montana
12:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 22
vs. Idaho State
11:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 20
@ Idaho State
TBA
Sat. Mar. 19
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 11
@ Portland State
TBA
Wed. Mar. 9
@ Idaho
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Colorado Mesa
10:00 a.m./2:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 5
@ Utah State
11:00 a.m.
Tue. Jan. 19
@ Boise State
TBA
Twitter
Facebook