SUU Gymnastics Earns 12th Academic National Championship
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 08/14/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University gymnastics has earned its 12th academic national championship after leading the nation with a team GPA of 3.843 during the 2011-12 season. In addition, a total of 12 gymnasts earned academic all-American citations from the National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches/Women (NACGC/W) for carrying a year-long cumulative GPA of 3.5 of higher last season.

"We try to push it as much as we can both inside and outside of the gym," head coach Scott Bauman said. "We have been strict in how we recruit and working hard in the classroom has really become a part of the culture at SUU with our upperclassmen helping to drive our level of excellence."

The Flippin' Birds finished ahead of its academic rival, Southeast Missouri State, on the list which finished the year with a 3.736. SEMO was followed by UW-La Crosse (3.711), Utah (3.664) and Brown (3.641) to round out the top five.

Individual honorees were led by Caitlin Kennedy and Lauren Jeffrey with matching 4.0's with four gymnasts just behind with GPA's in the 3.9's. That group includes Rochelle Bernier (3.91), Brooke Cersosimo (3.92), Brittney Jensen (3.97) and Anna Schumacher (3.93). The remaining honorees were made up of Jamie Armijo (3.74), Michaela Chernoch (3.71), Alyssa Click (3.56), Ana Jaworski (3.69), Rebecca Moore (3.87) and Stacey Sorensen (3.83).

Southern Utah will open its 2013 season on January 6 at UCLA and host its home opener on February 1 against Utah State.
Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Feb. 14
vs. Denver
(W) 195.550 -195.450
Sat. Feb. 8
@ Denver w/ NC State
() 2nd, 195.700
Fri. Jan. 31
vs. Boise State
(W) 195.450 -195.250
Fri. Jan. 24
@ Boise State
(L) 195.050 -196.025
Fri. Jan. 17
vs. Utah State
(L) 193.975 -194.150
Sat. Jan. 11
@ Utah w/BYU & Boise State
() 4th, 192.025
Mon. Jan. 6
vs. Red/White Preview
() Red, 156.150-153.900
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App