Stacey Brinkman Named Big Sky Offensive Player of the Week
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 10/30/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Oct. 30 - Southern Utah senior Stacey Brinkman has netted Big Sky Offensive Player of the Week honors following her record setting performance in the Thunderbirds 3-2 double overtime win over Cal State Bakersfield this past weekend. The forward from Las Vegas, Nevada becomes the second SUU Soccer player to be recognized, joining goalkeeper Charly Booth who received the award earlier this season.

Brinkman came into Sunday’s match tied for the SUU record with 18 career goals. The Thunderbirds and Roadrunners played a tightly contested game that went into a second overtime with the score still level at 2-2. Halfway through the second extra period, a defensive foul gave the T-Birds a free kick from just outside the top of the box. Brinkman took the attempt for her team, blasting a shot over the defensive wall and goalkeeper and into the top of the net to seal the win for the SUU in their season finale. The score also made Brinkman Southern Utah’s new all-time leading goal-scorer with a school record 19th career goal.



The Big Sky Conference also released its end of season awards this week, with five Thunderbirds being named among the honorees. Senior goalkeeper Charly Booth received honorable mention recognition after leading the league with 105 saves, Rachel Krenzer was honored as a defender and Morgan Bridge and Savannah Spere were both recognized in the midfield. Brinkman also received an honorable mention distinction after ranking among the conference leaders in shots (41), points (10) and goals scored (5).

Sun. Aug. 31
vs. CSU Bakersfield
(W) 5 -0
Sun. Aug. 24
@ UCSB
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Aug. 22
vs. Dixie State
(T) 4 -4
Fri. Aug. 15
vs. Red vs. White Preview
4:00 p.m.
Mon. Apr. 14
vs. Colorado
2013 Spring Season
9:00 a.m.
Mon. Apr. 14
vs. Colorado Mesa
2013 Spring Season
12:30 p.m.
Fri. Sep. 5
@ UTEP
6:00 p.m.
Mon. Sep. 8
@ Utah Valley
7:30 p.m.
Fri. Sep. 12
vs. Grand Canyon
NAU Tournament
5:00 p.m.
Sun. Sep. 14
vs. Wright State
NAU Tournament
11:30 a.m.
Fri. Sep. 26
vs. Sacramento State
4:00 p.m.
Sun. Sep. 28
vs. Portland State
12:00 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 3
vs. Idaho
4:00 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 10
@ Northern Colorado
7:00 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 12
@ North Dakota
11:00 a.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App