Levins with head coach Eric Houle
SUU Strategic Communications

Cameron Levins Named the Top NCAA T&F Athlete - The Bowerman Award

December 19, 2012
By SUU Strategic Communication

Related Links

Watch Cam receive the award here and watch his reaction after the presentation here.

ORLANDO, Fla. - Southern Utah University's Cameron Levins has been named the 2012 Bowerman Award winner, given annually to the most outstanding male and female track & field athlete of the year. The award, only in its fourth year, is essentially the Heisman Trophy of the collegiate track & field world.

"I only fathomed, a little bit, that I might be able to win," Levins said after the award was presented. "To have it happen was just unreal, I'm still in a bit of shock."

Levins earned a nomination for the award after winning a pair of individual titles at the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships, sweeping first place in the men's 5k and 10k. It was the first time since 2009 that the feat had been accomplished. In addition, Levins represented Canada in both races at the 2012 Summer Games in London.

He was joined by two other nominees, Florida's Tony McQuay and Illinois' Andrew Riley, both NCAA champions in their own right. McQuay led the Gators to an NCAA team title in 2012 in addition to garnering individual titles in the 400-meters and 4x400-meter relay. McQuay was a member of the United States' silver-medal 4x400-meter relay team last summer in London.

Riley became the first ever athlete to capture an NCAA title in the 100-meter dash and 110-meter hurdles, doing so at the 2012 NCAA National Championship. He also ran for his native Jamaica at the 2012 Summer Olympics.

The women's award was given to LSU's Kimberlyn Duncan, the 2012 NCAA champion in the 200-meter dash.

"This really just cements Southern Utah University track & field in the history books," head coach Eric Houle said. "I can't think of a better student-athlete than Cameron Levins to represent SUU and our program and look forward to what is in store for us going into the future."

Levins joins former winners Galen Rupp (2009), Ashton Eaton (2010) and Ngoni Makusha (2011) among the award's winners. Rupp and Eaton each competed for the United States during the 2012 Summer Olympics, with Eaton earning a gold medal in the men's decathlon and Rupp earning a Silver Medal in the men's 10,000-meters.