Cam Bowerman header
Kovar Repeats as Big Sky Field Athlete of the Week
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 01/22/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Jan. 22 - SUU thrower Kayla Kovar earned her second consecutive Big Sky Athlete of the Week award after recording top-three finishes in both the shot put and weight throw at New Mexico's Cherry & Silver Invitational last weekend. Kovar had already met the Big Sky qualifying standards in both events during the previous indoor meet, NAU's Lumberjack Team Challenge, on Jan. 12.

Kovar leads the conference in the shot put with a season-best mark of 50-3.25, a second-place finish at the New Mexico meet, standing over three feet beyond the second-place conference mark of 46-10, thrown by NAU's Jessica Bush. A third-place weight throw mark of 57-9.75 at the Cherry & Silver Invite places her second in the conference behind NAU's Lauren Stuart (58-1.25). 

The junior currently holds the all-time school records in both indoor events with personal best marks of 52-6.5 in the shot put and 58-9.75 in the weight throw, which she recorded during the 2012 season.

Kovar will continue to compete this weekend as she joins the rest of the Thunderbirds at the UW Invitational in Seattle, Wash., set to take place on Friday and Saturday.

Wed. Jun. 11
@ NCAA National Championship
() Kovar (HT, DT, SP)
Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 9th
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
TBA
Fri. Jan. 9
@ BYU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ NAU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ NAU Mountain T's Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ ISU Mountain State Games
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ UW Invite
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Don Kirby
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Husky Classic
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App