Cam Bowerman header
Kovar Earns Third Big Sky Athlete of the Week of the Season
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/05/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Feb. 5 - Junior Kayla Kovar received her third Big Sky Field Athlete of the Week award after her performance in the shot put and weight throw at Northern Arizona's Mountain T's Invitational last weekend.

The thrower finished second in both events at NAU and recorded season best marks of 52-4 in the shot put and 58-1.25 in the weight throw. Her shot put mark currently ranks 28th in the nation and first in the Big Sky, while her weight throw marks ranks third in the conference behind Sacramento State's Erinn Jones (59-9) and Eastern Washington's Vania Tauvela (58-8.5).

Kovar also holds the Southern Utah records in both events with personal best marks of 52-6.5 in the shot put and 58-9.75 in the weight throw, both recorded during the 2012 season.

The Thunderbirds will spend another weekend on the road as the team unites for the University of Washington's Husky Classic, set to take place on Friday and Saturday in Seattle.


Wed. Jun. 11
@ NCAA National Championship
() Kovar (HT, DT, SP)
Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 9th
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 25
@ BYU Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet - CANCELED
() More Info
Fri. Apr. 18
@ Bryan Clay Invitational
() Results
Thu. Apr. 17
@ Mt. SAC Relays
() Results
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Pomona-Pitzer Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ San Francisco State Distance Carnival
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ Stanford Invitational
() Results
Thu. Mar. 27
@ UC Riverside Spring Track Classic
() Results
Fri. Mar. 14
@ NCAA Indoor National Championship
() Results
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App