SUU Gymnastics Travels to Provo for Matinee Meet
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/21/2013
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS

**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University will travel to Provo this Saturday for a meet with Brigham Young University. The contest is scheduled for an earlier start time of 1:00 p.m. due to a men’s volleyball match in the same venue at 7:00 p.m.

“BYU has really done well in their last few meets,” head coach Scott Bauman said. “We expect this weekend to be tough and to be a really close meet.”

The meet in Provo will be the first of two contests with the Cougars this season as BYU will return to Cedar City to face the Thunderbirds on March 8. Overall, SUU is 13-40-1 against Brigham Young, being more competitive in recent years (13-17-1) after beginning the series 0-23.

Southern Utah is currently ranked ahead of the Cougars, standing No. 32 in the nation just ahead of BYU at No. 33. The T-Birds also have a higher season-best mark than BYU, 195.700  - 195.150.

Fans can follow the meet online with live stats that are anticipated to be available at www.suutbirds.com.

Scouting Brigham Young

Brigham Young University will enter the weekend ranked No. 33 in the nation and averaging a 194.411 on the year with a season-best mark of 195.150.

Individually, the Cougars are led by Madeline Nilsson on vault with an average of 9.762, Summer Raymond on beam with an average of 9.813 and Haylee Rollins on bars and floor with averages of 9.829 and 9.819, respectively.

Last Time Against Brigham Young

Southern Utah faced BYU three times in 2012, going 1-2 against the Cougars with a 194.800 - 194.275 victory in Provo.

Tied in History

Southern Utah University gymnastics encountered its only tie in school history, hosting BYU in a meet in 2008 where both teams scored a 195.000.

Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Jan. 9
@ Arizona State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 23
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Mon. Feb. 2
vs. Ball State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 6
vs. Utah State w/ San Jose St.
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Utah State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 27
vs. Denver
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App