Thunderbirds Face Boise in 2013 Road Finale
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/27/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University gymnastics will compete in its final regular-season road contest this weekend when the Thunderbirds travel to Idaho for a dual meet with Boise State University.

“This is a very important meet for us,” head coach Scott Bauman said. “We need to go up there and do well and continue to build our confidence going into the WAC Championships.”

Southern Utah will enter the night having split its previous two meets, including a victory over Sacramento State at home and a loss at Brigham Young University in Provo last weekend.

Despite the loss, the Thunderbirds moved up in the rankings from No. 32 to No. 30 with the latest poll sorted by regional qualifying scores (RQS).

Fans can follow the action in Boise with a live stat link anticipated to be available online at www.suutbirds.com or via a video stream, for a fee, online at www.broncosports.com.

Scouting Boise State

Boise State will enter the meet this weekend ranked No. 27 in the nation with an RQS of 195.195. The Broncos’ top mark this season came at home against BYU where BSU scored a 196.325.

Individually, Boise State is led by Ciera Perkins and Kelsey Black on vault with matching season averages of 9.825, Black on bars with a 9.829 season average, Caitlin Mann on beam with a 9.750 season average and Brittany Potvin-Green on floor with a 9.838 season average.

All-time Series

Boise State holds the all-time series lead with a 29-18 advantage. The two teams split results in 2012 with BSU taking a victory in Cedar City and SUU finishing ahead of Utah State and Boise in a tri-meet in Logan.Last Time Against Boise State

Southern Utah faced Boise State in a dual meet in Cedar City last year, losing to the Broncos 196.850 - 195.875. SUU’s Alyssa Click captured the individual title on beam with a 9.925, the No. 3 all-time mark in the Thunderbird record book.

Last Week

Southern Utah began the meet 21-for-21 at BYU, but suffered three consecutive falls on beam in a defeat to the Cougars in Provo, 195.800 - 194.075.

Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Jan. 9
@ Arizona State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 23
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Mon. Feb. 2
vs. Ball State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 6
vs. Utah State w/ San Jose St.
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Utah State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 27
vs. Denver
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App