SUU Menís Tennis Host Home Opener on Saturday
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/14/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University men’s tennis will host its home opener on Saturday morning, facing Sacramento State at 10:00 a.m.

The match will be the first in a month for Southern Utah with the men last playing at Montana State on February 17. The Thunderbirds opened the 2013 season, the first in program history, with a pair of losses at Montana (0-7) and at Montana State (0-7).

Scouting Sacramento State

Sacramento State will enter the match with an overall record of 5-9 and a perfect 2-0 record in Big Sky Conference play. The Hornets have won two of their last three matches with conference victories over Northern Arizona (4-3) and Montana State (7-0).

Walk the Walk

Southern Utah’s 2013 roster is made entirely of walk-ons with only two athletes, Spencer Nielsen and Alex Dial, with any post-high school experience.

Fledgling Thunderbirds

The men’s tennis team joins the Thunderbird family in 2013, becoming the newest sport on campus since the rebirth of the women’s volleyball program in 2009.

This is the Place

Southern Utah’s roster is made up entirely of athletes from the state of Utah.

Hoping to Exceed Expectations

Southern Utah University was picked last in the men’s preseason coaches poll. Sacramento State was picked to win the Big Sky with nine first-place votes and was trailed by Montana in second place with two first-place votes.

Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 11
@ Idaho State
1:00 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 9
@ Eastern Washington
3:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 28
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Idaho State
Darling Tennis Center
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Seattle
Darling Tennis Center
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 23
@ Grand Canyon
Darling Tennis Center
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 21
@ UNLV
3:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 12
vs. Montana State
12:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 10
@ Portland State
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State
3:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App