2015 Big Sky Champions
SUU Menís Tennis Host Home Opener on Saturday
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/14/2013
Print RSS

**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University men’s tennis will host its home opener on Saturday morning, facing Sacramento State at 10:00 a.m.

The match will be the first in a month for Southern Utah with the men last playing at Montana State on February 17. The Thunderbirds opened the 2013 season, the first in program history, with a pair of losses at Montana (0-7) and at Montana State (0-7).

Scouting Sacramento State

Sacramento State will enter the match with an overall record of 5-9 and a perfect 2-0 record in Big Sky Conference play. The Hornets have won two of their last three matches with conference victories over Northern Arizona (4-3) and Montana State (7-0).

Walk the Walk

Southern Utah’s 2013 roster is made entirely of walk-ons with only two athletes, Spencer Nielsen and Alex Dial, with any post-high school experience.

Fledgling Thunderbirds

The men’s tennis team joins the Thunderbird family in 2013, becoming the newest sport on campus since the rebirth of the women’s volleyball program in 2009.

This is the Place

Southern Utah’s roster is made up entirely of athletes from the state of Utah.

Hoping to Exceed Expectations

Southern Utah University was picked last in the men’s preseason coaches poll. Sacramento State was picked to win the Big Sky with nine first-place votes and was trailed by Montana in second place with two first-place votes.

Fri. Feb. 5
@ Utah State
11:00 a.m.
Tue. Jan. 19
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 8
@ BYU
5:30 p.m.
Thu. May. 14
@ NCAA Championship
ALL DAY
Fri. May. 8
@ NCAA First and Second Round
TBA
Fri. Apr. 24
@ Big Sky Championship
TBA
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Colorado Mesa
10:00 a.m./2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 9
vs. Idaho
1:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 11
vs. Portland State
TBA
Sat. Mar. 19
vs. Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 20
vs. Idaho State
TBA
Tue. Mar. 22
vs. Idaho State
TBA
Thu. Mar. 24
vs. Montana
12:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 25
vs. North Dakota State
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Apr. 1
vs. University of Northern Colorado
1:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook