41 BB games
SUU Women's Tennis Beats Seattle Prepares for Matches this Week
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/26/2013
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Southern Utah University women's tennis' top four captured all of the Thunderbirds points late Monday night as SUU posted a 5-2 victory over Seattle University.

The T-Birds began the match by taking the doubles point with wins at No. 1 and No. 2. Olya Kunz and Alex Ivanova teamed up for the 8-4 victory at No. 1 and Veronika Rogova and Anastasiia Vasileva paired for a matching 8-4 win at No. 2.

The quartet returned in singles for wins at first through fourth singles. Ivanova and Rogova swapped places in the singles lineup for the first time this season with both players picking up straight-set victories at No. 2 and No. 3 singles, respectively. Rogova breezed to a 6-1, 6-0 win over Gabriella Weissmann and Ivanova ran her winning streak to five matches with a 6-2, 6-4 result against Anna Lambert.

Kunz, playing at No. 1 singles, also picked up a straight-set win with a 7-5, 7-5 decision over Lindsey Newman. Vasileva, playing at No. 4 for the first time this season, dropped her first set 7-5, but came back over the final two sets to punctuate Southern Utah's scoring with a 6-0, 6-2 victory.

The Thunderbirds will be back in action this week, hosting a pair of Big Sky Conference matches. SUU is scheduled to play Eastern Washington on Wednesday at 2:00 p.m. and Idaho State on Thursday at 1:00 p.m.

Tennis Match Results
Seattle University vs Southern Utah University
3/25/2013 at Las Vegas, Nev.
(Bally's Resort)

Southern Utah University 5, Seattle University 2

 Singles competition
1. KUNZ, Olya (SUU) def. Lindsey Newman (SU) 7-5, 7-5
2. IVANOVA, Aleksandra (SUU) def. Anna Lambert (SU) 6-2, 6-4
3. ROGOVA, Veronika (SUU) def. Gabriella Weissmann (SU) 6-1, 6-0
4. VASILEVA, Anastasiia (SUU) def. Sarah Lucas (SU) 5-7, 6-0, 6-2
5. Corinne Wurden (SU) def. SKARAS, Madeline (SUU) 6-4, 6-1
6. Kristen James (SU) def. STAHELI, Afton (SUU) 6-2, 4-6, 6-4

 Doubles competition
1. KUNZ, Olya/IVANOVA, Aleksandra (SUU) def. Anna Lambert/Gabriella Weissmann (SU) 8-4
2. ROGOVA, Veronika/VASILEVA, Anastasiia (SUU) def. Lindsey Newman/Sarah Lucas (SU) 8-4
3. Corinne Wurden/Kristen James (SU) def. STAHELI, Afton/SKARAS, Madeline (SUU) 9-7

Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
(L) 3 -4
Sun. Apr. 13
@ Eastern Washington
(W) 5 -2
Sat. Apr. 12
vs. Seattle
(W) 5 -2
Fri. Apr. 11
@ UNLV
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Apr. 6
@ Weber State
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Apr. 5
@ Idaho State
(L) 2 -4
Wed. Mar. 26
vs. Air Force
() Rained Out
Tue. Mar. 25
vs. Seattle
Bally's Tennis Complex
(W) 4 -3
Sat. Mar. 22
vs. Montana State
(W) 4 -3
Fri. Mar. 21
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(W) 5 -2
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Mar. 15
@ Sacramento State
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Portland State
(L) 2 -5
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App