SUU Men Lose to Idaho State
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/28/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University men's tennis lost to Idaho State on Thursday morning, dropping the match 7-0.

Freshmen Troy Benson and Bryton Wells had their closest doubles match of the year. The duo dropped the match at No. 1 doubles, 8-4, to Idaho State's team of Austin Miller and Charles Norman.

Benson came back in singles and narrowly missed taking the second set, after dropping the first 6-1, in his match against ISU's Christian Marian, falling in the final frame 7-5.

Southern Utah will return to the courts on Saturday, April 13 in a dual match at Northern Arizona.

Tennis Match Results
Idaho State vs Southern Utah University
Mar 28, 2013 at Cedar City, Utah
(Thunderbird Tennis Courts)

Idaho State 7, Southern Utah University 0

 Singles competition
1. MARIAN, Christian (ISU) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU) 6-1, 7-5
2. NORMAN, Charles (ISU) def. WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 6-1, 6-0
3. STEMPIEN, Krzysztof (ISU) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU) 6-0, 6-2
4. SWIGGART, Jamey (ISU) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ (SUU) 6-0, 6-1
5. MILLER, Austin (ISU) def. NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 6-1, 6-0
6. COELLO, Andres (ISU) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 6-0, 6-0

 Doubles competition
1. NORMAN, Charles/MILLER, Austin (ISU) def. BENSON, Troy/WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 8-4
2. MARIAN, Christian/SWIGGART, Jamey (ISU) def. DIAL, Alex/NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 8-0
3. COELLO, Andres/STEMPIEN, Krzysztof (ISU) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 8-2

Match Notes:
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3,1); Singles (4,5,3,6,2,1)

Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 11
@ Idaho State
1:00 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 9
@ Eastern Washington
3:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 28
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Seattle
Darling Tennis Center
10:00 a.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Idaho State
Darling Tennis Center
(L) 1 -6
Sun. Mar. 23
@ Grand Canyon
Darling Tennis Center
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 21
@ UNLV
3:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 12
vs. Montana State
12:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 10
@ Portland State
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State
3:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App