41 BB games
Thunderbirds Tournament Bound this Weekend
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/23/2013
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS

**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah. - Southern Utah University women’s tennis will continue its season this weekend, having qualified as the No. 5 seed in the Big Sky Conference tournament in Sacramento, Calif. The Thunderbirds are scheduled to face Northern Colorado in the opening round.

SUU finished its first year in the Big Sky with a league mark of 6-4 with its only losses coming against Sacramento State, Montana, Northern Arizona and its first round opponent, Northern Colorado. Each of those teams are also in the tournament, having qualified as the No. 1 through No. 4 seeds, respectively.

Southern Utah’s match with Northern Colorado on Thursday is scheduled for 3:00 p.m. (MT) with the winning team playing in the semi-finals on Friday, also at 3:00 p.m. (MT). The finals are scheduled to be played on Sunday afternoon at the same time.

Results against Tournament Field

No. 1 - Sacramento State - L, 1-6
• Alex Ivanova wins No. 3 singles - 7-6 (7-5), 1-0

No. 2 - Montana - L, 2-5
• Alex Ivanova wins No. 2 singles - 6-3, 6-2
• Veronika Rogova wins No. 3 singles - 1-6, 7-5, 6-1

No. 3 Northern Arizona - L, 2-5
• Alex Ivanova wins No. 2 singles - 7-5, 6-1
• Anastasiia Vasileva wins No. 5 singles - 2-6, 6-4, 1-0 (10-6)

No. 4 Northern Colorado - L, 3-4
• Olya Kunz wins No. 1 singles - 7-6 (7-4), 6-3
• Veronika Rogova wins No. 2 singles - 6-2, 6-4
• Alex Ivanova wins No. 3 singles - 6-0, 6-4
• Rogova/Vasileva wins No. 2 doubles - 8-7 (7-4)

No. 6 Montana State - W, 4-3
• Olya Kunz wins No. 1 singles - 6-4, 4-6, 6-3
• Alex Ivanova wins No. 2 singles - 2-6, 6-2, 6-1
• Veronika Rogova wins No. 3 singles - 6-0, 6-1
• Kunz/Ivanova wins No. 1 doubles - 8-3
• Rogova/Vasileva wins No. 2 doubles - 8-1

Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
(L) 3 -4
Sun. Apr. 13
@ Eastern Washington
(W) 5 -2
Sat. Apr. 12
vs. Seattle
(W) 5 -2
Fri. Apr. 11
@ UNLV
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Apr. 6
@ Weber State
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Apr. 5
@ Idaho State
(L) 2 -4
Wed. Mar. 26
vs. Air Force
() Rained Out
Tue. Mar. 25
vs. Seattle
Bally's Tennis Complex
(W) 4 -3
Sat. Mar. 22
vs. Montana State
(W) 4 -3
Fri. Mar. 21
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(W) 5 -2
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Mar. 15
@ Sacramento State
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Portland State
(L) 2 -5
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App