Cam Bowerman header
Eccles Coliseum Set to Host High School T&F Championship
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/23/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Apr. 23 - Southern Utah track and field is set to host the annual High School Coliseum Championship this weekend as high school teams ranging from 1A to 5A flock to Cedar City to compete at Eccles Coliseum on Friday and Saturday.

"The reason we host the meet is that we want to give back to the sport," SUU head coach Eric Houle said. "As a university program, we owe it to the surrounding communities to host a meet for younger student-athletes."

The meet will operate with a rolling schedule with events beginning on Friday at 1 p.m. and on Saturday at 9 a.m. The distance events will be contested on Friday evening beginning at 7:30.

Throwers competing in the discus throw, set for Friday afternoon, will also be invited to enjoy all-you-can-eat hot dogs and drinks at the discus ring from 2-4 p.m. 

"This meet is really a great opportunity for the high school athletes," Houle continued. "It puts them on a good stage where they can have great competition and it will be a great experience for the athletes."

Online registration for the Coliseum Championship closes on Wednesday at 8 a.m. More information about the meet, including the full schedule, can be found here.

Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 3rd
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet - CANCELED
() More Info
Fri. Apr. 25
@ BYU Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 18
@ Bryan Clay Invitational
() Results
Thu. Apr. 17
@ Mt. SAC Relays
() Results
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Pomona-Pitzer Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ San Francisco State Distance Carnival
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ Stanford Invitational
() Results
Thu. Mar. 27
@ UC Riverside Spring Track Classic
() Results
Fri. Mar. 14
@ NCAA Indoor National Championship
() Results
Fri. Mar. 7
@ UNLV Track Classic
() Results
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App