2015 Big Sky Champions
Women's Tennis Season Ends with Loss to Sacramento State
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/27/2013
Print RSS
SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Southern Utah University women's tennis suffered a season-ending defeat to Sacramento State on Saturday afternoon, falling to the Hornets 4-0 in the semifinals of the Big Sky Conference championships.

Sacramento State took the doubles point with wins at No. 1 and No. 3 with finishes of 8-3 and 8-5, respectively.

The Hornets then posted straight-set victories at No. 1, No. 4 and No. 6 singles for the win. CSUS only dropped three games during singles en route to punching its ticket to the conference finals.

The loss leaves the Thunderbirds with an overall record of 12-8 on the year.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah vs Sacramento State
Apr 27, 2013 at Sacramento, Calif.
(Gold River Racquet Club)

Sacramento State 4, Southern Utah 0

Singles competition
1. DELGADO, Rebeca (SAC) def. KUNZ, Olya (SUU) 6-0, 6-1
2. NGUYEN, Jennifer (SAC) vs. IVANOVA, Aleksandra (SUU) unfinished
3. LOHSCHEIDT, Sophie (SAC) vs. ROGOVA, Veronika (SUU) unfinished
4. BOIJA, Olivia (SAC) def. SKARAS, Madeline (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
5. KNOEBL, Katharina (SAC) vs. VASILEVA, Anastasiia (SUU) unfinished
6. GOMEZ CARUS, Andrea (SAC) def. STAHELI, Afton (SUU) 6-1, 6-1

Doubles competition
1. BOIJA, Olivia/DELGADO, Rebeca (SAC) def. KUNZ, Olya/IVANOVA, Aleksandra (SUU) 8-3
2. KNOEBL, Katharina/NGUYEN, Jennifer (SAC) vs. ROGOVA, Veronika/VASILEVA, Anastasiia (SUU) unfinished
3. GOMEZ CARUS, Andrea/LOHSCHEIDT, Sophie (SAC) def. STAHELI, Afton/SKARAS, Madeline (SUU) 8-5

Match Notes:
Southern Utah 12-8
Sacramento State 12-13
Order of finish: Doubles (3,1); Singles (1,6,4)
Sat. Apr. 23
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Thu. Apr. 21
vs. Sacramento State
10:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 8
vs. North Dakota
(W) 4 -3
Sun. Apr. 3
@ Eastern Washington
(L) 2 -5
Sat. Mar. 26
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 25
@ Idaho State
(L) 1 -6
Thu. Mar. 24
vs. Montana State
(L) 2 -5
Sat. Mar. 19
vs. Montana
(W) 5 -2
Thu. Mar. 17
vs. University of Northern Colorado
(L) 3 -4
Sun. Mar. 6
@ UNLV
2:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 6
@ Texas San Antonio
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Mar. 5
@ Texas State
(L) 3 -4
Wed. Feb. 24
@ Dixie State
(W) 8 -1
Sat. Feb. 20
vs. Grand Canyon
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Colorado Mesa
(L) 3 -4
Twitter
Facebook