Women's Tennis Earns Three All-Conference Honors
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 05/03/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University women's tennis has had three players named to a trio of all-conference teams as announced by the Big Sky Conference.

The list is headlined by junior Alex Ivanova who was named first-team all-Big Sky after finishing her season with a team-best 16-3 record, including a perfect 10-0 mark during the conference season. Her season total also included a 13-match winning streak stretched over No. 2 and No. 3 singles.

Senior Olya Kunz earned her third all-conference honor of her career after picking up second-team all-Big Sky accolades. Kunz had been a two-time all-Summit League honoree prior to Southern Utah's move into the Big Sky Conference this year. She finished the season with a 10-10 record, playing all but two matches at No. 1 singles.

Ivanova and Kunz teamed throughout the year at No. 1 doubles, finishing the 2013 campaign with an overall mark of 9-11.

The final honor was given to freshman Veronika Rogova who picked up an honorable mention nod. Rogova opened her inaugural campaign on a three-match winning streak and earned Southern Utah's only Big Sky Player of the Week award. The freshman finished the season with an overall record of 14-5 split over No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3 singles.

Rogova led all players with 14 doubles wins during the year, teaming with Madeline Skaras for a 5-3 mark and Anastasiia Vasileva for a 9-2 record all at No. 2 doubles.
Mon. Mar. 23
vs. Eastern Washington
2:00 PM
Sat. Mar. 21
@ University of Montana
TBA
Fri. Mar. 20
@ Montana State
TBA
Fri. Mar. 13
@ North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Wed. Mar. 11
@ Sacramento State
(L) 1 -6
Tue. Mar. 10
@ San Jose State
1:00 PM
Fri. Mar. 27
vs. Idaho
1:00 PM
Sun. Mar. 29
@ Northern Colorado
9:00 AM
Sat. Apr. 4
vs. Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Tue. Apr. 7
@ UNLV
10:00 AM
Fri. Apr. 10
vs. Portland State
2:00 PM
Tue. Apr. 14
vs. Idaho State
2:00 PM
Fri. Apr. 24
@ Big Sky Tournament
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App