2015 Big Sky Champions
Maurer Finishes Second in the Heptathlon at BSC Championships
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 05/09/2013
Print RSS

FOREST GROVE, Ore. - Southern Utah University's Shaye Maurer wrapped up her first two days of competition in the heptathlon at the Big Sky Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Thursday, finishing in second place after totaling 5209 points.

Maurer recorded her best results on day one (Wednesday) with a pair of first-place finishes on the track in the 100-meter hurdles (13.72) and 200-meter dash (24.95). Teammate Cheyenne Thatcher logged her best performance during the seven events with a third-place finish in the javelin, throwing 121 feet 10 inches. Thatcher narrowly missed out on team points, finishing just outside the top eight by ten points.

On the men's side, Eric Durrant recorded points for Southern Utah with a seventh-place finish in the decathlon after totaling 5896 points. The T-Birds narrowly missed out on doubling up team points in the decathlon as well as Stephen Wilson finished in ninth place.

The Big Sky Conference Outdoor Track & Field Championships will continue over the next two days with the lion's share of the competition scheduled for Friday and Saturday.

Fri. Jan. 29
@ Mountain T's Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 29
@ UW Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Sat. Jan. 16
@ Lumberjack Team Challenge
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 15
@ Snake River Open/Multi
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Wed. Jun. 10
@ NCAA National Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Thu. May. 28
@ NCAA West Regional Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Don Kirby Elite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Husky Classic
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 19
@ NAU Tuneup
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Feb. 25
@ Big Sky Indoor Championships
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 11
vs. NCAA Indoor Nationals
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 18
@ UNLV Spring Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Mar. 24
@ UCR Spring Classic
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ UVU Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ San Francisco
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook