Thunderbirds Miss Qualifying Marks on Day Two
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 05/24/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Thursday's Results - click here | Complete Results - click here

AUSTIN, Texas - Southern Utah University track & field missed out on more national championship berths after a trio of athletes came up short on qualifying marks during day two of the NCAA first round on the campus of the University of Texas.

Cedar City native Shaye Maurer-Springall had the best performance on the day with a fourth-place finish in her heat of the women's 100-meter hurdles. Maurer-Springall's time was only .04 seconds off the pace of a chance to advance into Saturday's semi-finals after crossing the finish line in 14.01.

On the men's side, Kodai Kusano and Preston Myers each finished eighth in their respective races of the 110-meter hurdles and 200-meter dash. Kusano wrapped up his season with a time of 14.82 and Myers finished his heat with a time 21.81.

Nate Jewkes, so far, is Southern Utah's only NCAA national qualifier in 2013 after capturing a sixth-place finish in the men's 10k on Thursday night.

The NCAA track & field first round will conclude on Saturday with appearances by Thunderbirds in the men's and women's 5,000-meters.

Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 3rd
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet - CANCELED
() More Info
Fri. Jan. 9
@ BYU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ NAU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ NAU Mountain T's Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ ISU Mountain State Games
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ UW Invite
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Husky Classic
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Don Kirby
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App