2015 Big Sky Champions
Thunderbirds Miss Qualifying Marks on Day Two
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 05/24/2013
Print RSS

Thursday's Results - click here | Complete Results - click here

AUSTIN, Texas - Southern Utah University track & field missed out on more national championship berths after a trio of athletes came up short on qualifying marks during day two of the NCAA first round on the campus of the University of Texas.

Cedar City native Shaye Maurer-Springall had the best performance on the day with a fourth-place finish in her heat of the women's 100-meter hurdles. Maurer-Springall's time was only .04 seconds off the pace of a chance to advance into Saturday's semi-finals after crossing the finish line in 14.01.

On the men's side, Kodai Kusano and Preston Myers each finished eighth in their respective races of the 110-meter hurdles and 200-meter dash. Kusano wrapped up his season with a time of 14.82 and Myers finished his heat with a time 21.81.

Nate Jewkes, so far, is Southern Utah's only NCAA national qualifier in 2013 after capturing a sixth-place finish in the men's 10k on Thursday night.

The NCAA track & field first round will conclude on Saturday with appearances by Thunderbirds in the men's and women's 5,000-meters.

Fri. Jan. 29
@ Mountain T's Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 29
@ UW Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Sat. Jan. 16
@ Lumberjack Team Challenge
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 15
@ Snake River Open/Multi
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Wed. Jun. 10
@ NCAA National Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Thu. May. 28
@ NCAA West Regional Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Don Kirby Elite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Husky Classic
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 19
@ NAU Tuneup
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Feb. 25
@ Big Sky Indoor Championships
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 11
vs. NCAA Indoor Nationals
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 18
@ UNLV Spring Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Mar. 24
@ UCR Spring Classic
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ UVU Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ San Francisco
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook