Caitlin Kennedy Named Second-Team Academic All-American
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 06/06/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University gymnast Caitlin Kennedy has been named to the Capital One Academic All-American team, earning second-team honors after picking up first-team Academic All-District 8 accolades in May.

Kennedy finished her undergraduate degree in exercise science in three years, maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade point average. The Temple, Texas native wrapped up her final year of eligibility last year by continuing in the master's program of health and human performance, also maintaining a flawless 4.0 GPA. Kennedy represented the Beverley Taylor Sorenson College of Education and Human Development as the college valedictorian during SUU's 2013 commencement.

Competitively, Kennedy appeared for Southern Utah in every meet on balance beam, on vault and bars in all but one meet, and on floor in all but two meets during the 2013 season. She led the team with a 9.760 average on beam and was in the top five of season averages on vault (4th), bars (5th) and floor (5th). She finished her senior year by tallying career bests in the all-around (39.275), vault (9.850) and uneven bars (9.875) to lead the Thunderbirds to a spot at the 2013 NCAA Regionals in Norman, Okla.
Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Dec. 5
vs. Red v White Intersquad
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 9
@ Arizona State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 23
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Mon. Feb. 2
vs. Ball State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 6
vs. San Jose St.
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Utah State
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App