2015 Big Sky Champions
Caitlin Kennedy Named Second-Team Academic All-American
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 06/06/2013
Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University gymnast Caitlin Kennedy has been named to the Capital One Academic All-American team, earning second-team honors after picking up first-team Academic All-District 8 accolades in May.

Kennedy finished her undergraduate degree in exercise science in three years, maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade point average. The Temple, Texas native wrapped up her final year of eligibility last year by continuing in the master's program of health and human performance, also maintaining a flawless 4.0 GPA. Kennedy represented the Beverley Taylor Sorenson College of Education and Human Development as the college valedictorian during SUU's 2013 commencement.

Competitively, Kennedy appeared for Southern Utah in every meet on balance beam, on vault and bars in all but one meet, and on floor in all but two meets during the 2013 season. She led the team with a 9.760 average on beam and was in the top five of season averages on vault (4th), bars (5th) and floor (5th). She finished her senior year by tallying career bests in the all-around (39.275), vault (9.850) and uneven bars (9.875) to lead the Thunderbirds to a spot at the 2013 NCAA Regionals in Norman, Okla.
Fri. Apr. 15
@ NCAA Nationals
12:00 p.m.
Sat. Apr. 2
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 194.950 6th/6
Sat. Mar. 19
vs. Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 196.575 2nd/4
Fri. Mar. 11
@ Boise St & San Jose St
() 196.275 2nd/3
Fri. Mar. 4
@ California/Michigan State/Lindenwood
() 195.050 2nd/4
Sat. Feb. 27
@ Brigham Young
(W) 196.00 -195.75
Fri. Jan. 13
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 20
vs. Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 27
@ North Carolina State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 3
@ Boise State
TBA
Mon. Feb. 6
vs. Denver
TBA
Fri. Feb. 17
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 24
@ Utah State
TBA
Mon. Feb. 27
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Mar. 3
vs. North Carolina State
TBA
Twitter
Facebook