Cam Bowerman header
Four Signees Finalize T&F 2013-14 Signing Class
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 08/27/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University track & field head coach Eric Houle has announced the addition of four student-athletes to the track & field program, finalizing the team's 2013-14 signing class.

The group includes Russ Nielson (Nephi/BYU), Shea Barker (Sacramento, Calif./Whitney HS), Kayla Shakespeare (Cedar City/Cedar HS) and Anden Lyman (Enterprise/Enterprise HS).

Nielson, younger brother to former SUU standouts Wade and Trent, is a transfer from Brigham Young University where he recorded personal-best marks of over seven feet in the high jump and 189 feet four inches in the javelin. He is anticipated to compete in the multi events at Southern Utah.

Barker posted personal-best times of 14.76 in the 100-meter hurdles and 47.12 in the 300-meter hurdles at Whitney HS in Sacramento, Calif. In addition, she also recorded a personal-best mark of 17 feet 10 inches in the long jump.

Shakespeare is a local Cedar HS product, recording personal-best times of 12.26 in the 100-meters and 25.39 in the 200-meters.

Lyman rounds out the signing class, having recorded a personal-best mark of 139 feet in the javelin.

"These four add strength and depth to where we need it," Houle said. "They will really help us prepare for the future and will have time to learn and develop along side our veterans in those events."
Fri. Apr. 18
@ Bryan Clay Invitational
TBA
Thu. Apr. 17
@ Mt. SAC Relays
TBA
Wed. Apr. 16
@ CA Invitational/Mt. SAC Multis
TBA
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Pomona-Pitzer Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ San Francisco State Distance Carnival
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ Stanford Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet
() More Info
Fri. Apr. 25
@ BYU Invitational
TBA
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
TBA
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
TBA
Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. Jun. 11
@ NCAA National Championship
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App