2015 Big Sky Champions
SUU Women Open at BYU Invitational
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 09/17/2013
Print RSS

**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University women’s tennis will open its fall season this weekend when the team makes the short trip north on I-15 to take part in the BYU Invitational. The tournament will be the first action on the court for the team since a semi-final appearance in the Big Sky Conference tournament last April.

“This will be a great trip for us,” head coach Lenny Lee said. “It will be good to see where we are at since last spring and will give the team a chance to hit again somebody else.”

Southern Utah is slated to face athletes from Wyoming and Brigham Young during the three-day tournament. The format calls for a draw of 32 in singles and a draw of 16 in doubles. Matches are scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday morning with a full draw anticipated to available online at www.byucougars.com.

Ruling the Sky

Senior Alex Ivanova recorded a perfect singles mark in Big Sky Conference play in 2013, compiling an overall mark of 9-0 at No. 2 singles and 1-0 at No. 3 singles.

Goin’ Streaking

Alex Ivanova finished 2013 with a 13-match winning streak in singles.

Sophomore Veronika Rogova also finished strong in 2013 with a four-match winning streak in singles.

All-Conference Performers

Ivanova was a first-team all-Big Sky Conference honoree.

Rogova was an honorable mention all-Big Sky Conference honoree.

Sat. Apr. 23
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Thu. Apr. 21
vs. Sacramento State
10:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 8
vs. North Dakota
(W) 4 -3
Sun. Apr. 3
@ Eastern Washington
(L) 2 -5
Sat. Mar. 26
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 25
@ Idaho State
(L) 1 -6
Thu. Mar. 24
vs. Montana State
(L) 2 -5
Sat. Mar. 19
vs. Montana
(W) 5 -2
Thu. Mar. 17
vs. University of Northern Colorado
(L) 3 -4
Sun. Mar. 6
@ UNLV
2:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 6
@ Texas San Antonio
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Mar. 5
@ Texas State
(L) 3 -4
Wed. Feb. 24
@ Dixie State
(W) 8 -1
Sat. Feb. 20
vs. Grand Canyon
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Colorado Mesa
(L) 3 -4
Twitter
Facebook