SUU Women Open at BYU Invitational
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 09/17/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University women’s tennis will open its fall season this weekend when the team makes the short trip north on I-15 to take part in the BYU Invitational. The tournament will be the first action on the court for the team since a semi-final appearance in the Big Sky Conference tournament last April.

“This will be a great trip for us,” head coach Lenny Lee said. “It will be good to see where we are at since last spring and will give the team a chance to hit again somebody else.”

Southern Utah is slated to face athletes from Wyoming and Brigham Young during the three-day tournament. The format calls for a draw of 32 in singles and a draw of 16 in doubles. Matches are scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m. on Thursday morning with a full draw anticipated to available online at www.byucougars.com.

Ruling the Sky

Senior Alex Ivanova recorded a perfect singles mark in Big Sky Conference play in 2013, compiling an overall mark of 9-0 at No. 2 singles and 1-0 at No. 3 singles.

Goin’ Streaking

Alex Ivanova finished 2013 with a 13-match winning streak in singles.

Sophomore Veronika Rogova also finished strong in 2013 with a four-match winning streak in singles.

All-Conference Performers

Ivanova was a first-team all-Big Sky Conference honoree.

Rogova was an honorable mention all-Big Sky Conference honoree.

Fri. Apr. 24
@ Big Sky Tournament
TBA
Tue. Apr. 14
vs. Idaho State
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Apr. 10
vs. Portland State
(L) 3 -4
Thu. Apr. 9
@ Northern Arizona
(L) 0 -7 POST
Tue. Apr. 7
@ UNLV
(L) 2 -5
Sat. Apr. 4
vs. Weber State
(L) 2 -5
Thu. Apr. 2
vs. Dixie State
(W) 6 -1
Sun. Mar. 29
@ Northern Colorado
(L) 2 -5
Fri. Mar. 27
vs. Idaho
1:00 PM
Mon. Mar. 23
vs. Eastern Washington
(L) 1 -6
Sat. Mar. 21
@ University of Montana
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Mar. 20
@ Montana State
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Mar. 13
@ North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Wed. Mar. 11
@ Sacramento State
(L) 1 -6
Tue. Mar. 10
@ San Jose State
1:00 PM
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App