Grizzlies Hold On for a 3-1 Win Over the Thunderbirds
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 10/27/2013
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
MISSOULA, Mont. 10/27/13 – Montana (6-8-4, 3-5-1 BSC) built a three goal lead and eventually held on for a 3-1 win visiting over Southern Utah (6-11-1, 3-5-1) in the two teams’ final Big Sky matchup of the season on Sunday.

Montana picked up a goal from India Watne early on and Brooke Moody added a second on a penalty kick in the closing moments of the first half to give the Grizzlies a 2-0 advantage at the break.

The home team added to the margin with a score by junior midfielder Allie Simon in the 70th minute, making the count 3-0. SUU answered back late in the match as junior Kirsten Anthony put back a rebound off a shot by Sabrina Hernandez to bring the score to 3-1.

Southern Utah narrowed the deficit in the shot column during the second period, but still finished the match trailing 11-17. The Thunderbirds did post a 5-3 advantage on corner kicks.

Sophomore goalkeeper Tessa Christensen made five saves while playing the full 90 minutes. Anthony’s goal was her second of the season while Hernandez recorded her first assist. Watne and Mackenzie Akins were also each credited with an assist.

Sunday’s loss wraps up the season for the Thunderbirds, who now go back into training and preparation for next year. The Big Sky Conference Tournament will be begin on Thursday, Nov. 7 in Portland, Ore. and will feature a field that includes Portland State, Northern Arizona, Weber State and Northern Colorado. Coverage of SUU soccer is available at www.suutbirds.com.

Fri. Oct. 31
@ Northern Arizona
7:00 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 26
@ Weber State
(W) 2 -1
Fri. Oct. 24
@ Idaho State
(L) 1 -2
Sun. Oct. 19
vs. Montana
(T) 2 -2
Fri. Oct. 17
vs. Eastern Washington
(L) 1 -2
Sun. Oct. 12
@ North Dakota
(W) 3 -1
Fri. Oct. 10
@ Northern Colorado
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 3
vs. Idaho
(T) 2 -2
Sun. Sep. 28
vs. Portland State
(W) 2 -0
Fri. Sep. 26
vs. Sacramento State
(W) 2 -1
Sun. Sep. 14
vs. Wright State
NAU Tournament
(W) 1 -0
Fri. Sep. 12
vs. Grand Canyon
NAU Tournament
(W) 2 -1
Mon. Sep. 8
@ Utah Valley
7:30 p.m.
Sun. Aug. 31
vs. CSU Bakersfield
(W) 5 -0
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App