SUU Gymnastics Announces 2014-15 Signing Class
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 11/13/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University gymnastics has announced its 2014-15 signing class with Amber Heltemes (Coon Rapids, Minn.) set to join the Thunderbirds next year.

Heltemes is a two-time national qualifier and also qualified for NITs once. The Twin City Twisters product recorded a pair of top-10 finishes at nationals last year, placing 10th on bars and fifth on floor en route to an 11th-place finish in the all-around. At the 2013 regionals, Heltemes recorded three individual titles on bars, floor and in the all-around and also finished third on beam and seventh on vault.

"Amber finished 11th in the all-around at nationals and then, the day after, had some bone spurs removed. That just shows how tough she is," head coach Scott Bauman said. "She is one of the best bar workers in the country and is deadly consistent on beam, floor and vault. She is also a great student and is somebody who will fit right in with what we do at SUU."

The Flippin' Birds are set to open their 2014 season with the annual Red/White preview on Monday, Jan. 6 at 7:00 p.m. The first official meet of the year, a quad meet at the University of Utah with Boise State and BYU, will follow on Jan. 11.
Fri. Apr. 17
vs. NCAA Nationals
6:00 PM
Sat. Apr. 4
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 196.275 3rd Place
Sat. Mar. 21
vs. Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 196.275 2nd Place
Fri. Mar. 13
vs. Boise State w/ California
(W) 196.325 -196.225 196.125
Fri. Mar. 6
vs. Arizona State
(W) 195.925 -162.325
Fri. Feb. 27
vs. Utah State & Denver
(W) 196.475 -196.100
Sat. Jan. 9
@ Denver
TBA
Fri. Jan. 15
vs. Utah
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 22
vs. Utah State
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 29
@ Utah State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 5
vs. Boise State
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 12
vs. Brigham Young
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Michigan
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 26
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Mar. 4
@ California
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App