Cam Bowerman header
Kovar Claims Fourth Consecutive BSC Athlete of the Week Award
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/18/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah – Feb. 18 – Thunderbird thrower Kayla Kovar earned her fourth consecutive Big Sky Field Athlete of the Week award after posting new Southern Utah records in both the shot put and weight throw at New Mexico’s Don Kirbey Elite Invitational last weekend.

Kovar finished first in the shot put with an all-time best SUU mark of 55-10.5, improving her school record for the third time this season. The senior currently ranks fifth in the NCAA Division I shot put rankings, as well as first in the Big Sky with a four-foot lead over NAU’s Jessica Weise (second, 51-9.25). She ranks second in the conference in the weight throw after posting a school record mark of 63-7 at UNM.

Kovar will travel with the rest of the Thunderbirds to Idaho State for the Bengal’s Conference Tune-Up on Feb. 21-22 in Pocatello. The T-Birds will then prepare for their second indoor conference championship since joining the Big Sky, which will also be hosted by Idaho State and will take place Feb. 27-Mar. 1.

Wed. Jun. 11
@ NCAA National Championship
() Kovar (HT, DT, SP)
Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 9th
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet - CANCELED
() More Info
Fri. Apr. 25
@ BYU Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 18
@ Bryan Clay Invitational
() Results
Thu. Apr. 17
@ Mt. SAC Relays
() Results
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Pomona-Pitzer Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ Stanford Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ San Francisco State Distance Carnival
() Results
Thu. Mar. 27
@ UC Riverside Spring Track Classic
() Results
Fri. Mar. 14
@ NCAA Indoor National Championship
() Results
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App