2015 Big Sky Champions
SUU Women's Tennis Runs Season Opening Streak to Eight
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/20/2014
Print RSS
ST. GEORGE, Utah - Southern Utah University women's tennis ran its season-opening winning streak to eight matches with an 8-1 victory at Dixie State on Thursday afternoon. The run includes seven straight against the Red Storm and dates back to the 2006-07 season when the Thunderbirds beat Colorado College to begin the streak.

SUU opened play by sweeping each of the doubles matches as Alex Ivanova and Veronika Rogova teamed at No. 1 doubles to post an 8-2 victory. The No. 2 doubles team of Madeline Skaras and Nastia Vasileva matched them, also with an 8-2 victory. Newcomers Sarah Lundin, a Dixie State transfer, and freshman Jane Marushko wrapped up the doubles with an 8-1 win at the No. 3 spot.

In singles, Ivanova, Marushko and Vasileva each posted 6-2, 6-2 wins at No. 1, No. 2 and No. 4 singles, beating Dixie State's Joy Naigeon, Stormy Dvorak and Summer Child, respectively. Rogova posted a similar 6-2 win in her opening set at No. 3 singles, but only dropped a single game in the second, posting a 6-1 victory over DSU's Laura Hartle. Skaras only dropped a game in her first set at No. 5 singles, wrapping up the match 6-1, 6-2 over the Red Storm's Sierra Smith.

Lundin suffered Southern Utah's only defeat on the day in a three-set affair against Dixie's Zenja Draca. Draca took the first set 6-4 only to have Lundin come back in the second set for an easy 6-1 win. The duo went to the third set where Draca punctuated the match with a 6-1 victory.

Southern Utah will be back in action on Saturday and Sunday, facing CS Fullerton and UC Riverside on the road. The matches are scheduled to begin at 11:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m., respectively.
Fri. Feb. 5
vs. South Dakota
6:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 30
vs. Utah State
5:00 p.m.
Fri. Apr. 24
@ Big Sky Tournament
TBA
Tue. Apr. 14
vs. Idaho State
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Apr. 10
vs. Portland State
(L) 3 -4
Thu. Apr. 9
@ Northern Arizona
(L) 0 -7 POST
Sat. Feb. 6
vs. Portland State
12:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 13
vs. Idaho
2:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 13
vs. Youngstown State
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Feb. 14
@ UNLV
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Colorado Mesa
3:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 20
vs. Grand Canyon
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 24
@ Dixie State
2:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 5
vs. Texas State
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 6
vs. UNLV
2:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook