Menís Tennis Opens Sophomore Season this Week
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/07/2014
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University men’s tennis will open its second season this week when the Thunderbirds travel to Sacramento State on Sunday and Portland State on Monday.

The team will consist of three returners and three newcomers. Anchoring the group with be Troy Benson, a sophomore from Salt Lake City, who is anticipated to play at the No. 1 singles spot. Senior Alex Dial will also be looked to for leadership as the only upperclassman on the T-Bird roster, having played most of 2013 at the No. 3 singles spot.

Branden Olcott, another returner from 2013, played all but one match at No. 6 singles last season and is joined by true freshmen Mitchell John, Blair Robbins and Ammon Story. The roster of six includes five underclassmen and one senior.

Recaps of the matches will be available online at www.suutbirds.com.

Scouting Sacramento State

Sacramento State was picked first in the preseason coaches’ poll, but are currently 2-8 overall on the year, including a pair of losses to Big Sky opponents Montana (5-2) and Montana State (4-3).

Scouting Portland State

Portland State was picked ninth in the preseason coaches’ poll and currently hold an overall mark of 1-9. The Vikings lone victory came at Willamette College, an NCAA Division III side in Salem, Ore.

Late Start

Southern Utah is the last team in the Big Sky Conference to open its season. Idaho State has played the next fewest matches with five and Weber State leads the conference with 12.
Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 11
@ Idaho State
1:00 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 9
@ Eastern Washington
3:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 28
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Seattle
Darling Tennis Center
10:00 a.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Idaho State
Darling Tennis Center
(L) 1 -6
Sun. Mar. 23
@ Grand Canyon
Darling Tennis Center
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 21
@ UNLV
3:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 12
vs. Montana State
12:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 10
@ Portland State
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State
3:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App