Men's Tennis Falls in Season Opener
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/09/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Southern Utah University men's tennis opened its 2014 campaign on Sunday, suffering a 7-0 defeat at Sacramento State.

Troy Benson recorded the most games for the Thunderbirds, capturing six over the course of singles and doubles competition. The sophomore fell 6-0, 6-2 at No. 1 singles and paired with freshman Blair Robbins at No. 1 doubles, falling 8-4. Benson's match was also the final contest to wrap up during the day.

Southern Utah will next play at Portland State on Monday night.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah vs Sacramento State
Mar 09, 2014 at Sacramento, Calif.
(Rio Del Oro Racquet Club)

Sacramento State 7, Southern Utah 0

Singles competition

1. BRANDYS, Roy (SAC) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-2
2. RAM, Niranjan (SAC) def. ROBBINS, Blair (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
3. MILLER, Tom (SAC) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-1
4. MARQUEZ, Joaquin (SAC) def. STORY, Ammon (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
5. ANDERSEN, Oliver (SAC) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU-M) 6-0, 6-0
6. ABDULWAHAB, Ayman (SAC) def. JOHN, Mitchell (SUU-M) 6-1, 6-1

Doubles competition

1. ANDERSEN, Oliver/RAM, Niranjan (SAC) def. BENSON, Troy/ROBBINS, Blair (SUU-M) 8-4
2. BRANDYS, Roy/ABDULWAHAB, Ayman (SAC) def. DIAL, Alex/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU-M) 8-1
3. MILLER, Tom/MARQUEZ, Joaquin (SAC) def. JOHN, Mitchell/STORY, Ammon (SUU-M) 8-2

Match Notes:

Southern Utah 0-1, 0-1
Sacramento State 4-9, 2-2
Order of finish: Doubles (2,3,1); Singles (5,4,3,2,6,1)
Thu. May. 14
@ NCAA Championship
ALL DAY
Fri. May. 8
@ NCAA First and Second Round
TBA
Fri. Apr. 24
@ Big Sky Championship
TBA
Sat. Apr. 18
@ Northern Arizona
9:00 AM
Fri. Apr. 17
vs. Portland State
11:00 AM
Fri. Apr. 10
vs. Weber State
(L) 1 -6
Sun. Mar. 29
@ University of North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Mar. 27
@ Northern Colorado
TBA
Mon. Mar. 23
vs. Eastern Washington
10:00 AM
Sun. Mar. 22
@ Seattle
9:00 AM
Sun. Mar. 22
@ Grand Canyon
2:00 PM
Sat. Mar. 21
@ Idaho State
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Mar. 20
vs. Idaho State
11:00 AM
Thu. Mar. 19
vs. University of Idaho
1:00 PM
Wed. Mar. 11
@ University of Montana
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App