Hailey Mandelko Named to All-Big Sky Tournament Team
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/15/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
GRAND FORKS, N.D., March 15 – Southern Utah guard Hailey Mandelko was named to the Big Sky Conference all-tournament team, the league announced Saturday. The junior averaged 27.0 ppg to help the Thunderbirds advance to the semi-final round of the championship event held in Grand Forks, N.D.

Mandelko was limited by fouls in the T-Birds’ opening round matchup against Sacramento State, but still managed to score 20 points in the second half to help SUU earn its first conference tournament win since 1999. She then came back to score a career-high 34 against Montana. The Lexington, Neb. native shot 9-18 at the 3-point line between the two games and finished 15-30 from the field overall. Mandelko was recognized as a member of the all-conference team last week following an outstanding regular season.

North Dakota forward Mia Loyd was selected as the event’s Most Valuable Player while her teammate Madi Buck, the Grizzlies Torry Hill and Kellie Cole and Lyndsey Reed of Idaho State were selected to the all-tournament team.

UND captured its first Big Sky Championship with a 72-55 decision over Montana, which means that Southern Utah is headed to the Women’s National Invitational Tournament. The field will be announced Monday night following the release of the NCAA bracket. Further information will be available online at www.suutbirds.com.

Fri. Nov. 21
vs. Boise State
(W) 66 -64
Tue. Nov. 4
vs. Colorado Mesa University (EX)
(W) 98 -59
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Colorado
Women's NIT
(L) 68 -79
Thu. Mar. 20
vs. Colorado State
Women's NIT
(W) 71 -56
Fri. Mar. 14
vs. Montana
Big Sky Conference Tournament
(L) 69 -73
Thu. Mar. 13
@ Sacramento State
Big Sky Conference Tournament
(W) 86 -78
Sat. Nov. 29
vs. New Mexico Highlands
1:00 p.m.
Tue. Dec. 2
@ Utah Valley University
7:05 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 5
@ Air Force
Air Force Tournament
TBA
Sat. Dec. 6
vs. TBA
Air Force Tournament
TBA
Sat. Dec. 13
vs. UNLV
7:00 p.m.
Tue. Dec. 16
vs. Westminster
7:00 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 20
@ Gonzaga
TBA
Mon. Dec. 29
vs. New Mexico State
1:00 p.m.
Thu. Jan. 1
vs. Portland State
7:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App