2015 Big Sky Champions
SUU Gymnastics Heading to Minneapolis for 2014 Regionals
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/24/2014
Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University gymnastics will continue its season in Minneapolis, Minn. and compete in the 2014 NCAA Regionals the first weekend of April. The meet, which will be hosted by the University of Minnesota, is one of six NCAA regional contests that will be held on April 5.

SUU finished the 2014 regular season ranked No. 26 in the nation and will be joined in Minneapolis by No. 2 Oklahoma, No. 11 Illinois, No. 14 Minnesota, No. 19 California and No. 31 San Jose State. The Thunderbirds will be facing all but San Jose State for the first time this year, having bested the Spartans in San Jose on Feb. 28 (195.925-195.775).

Southern Utah last made a regional appearance in Minneapolis in 2008 where the Thunderbirds finished fifth. Three-time All-American Elise Wheeler advanced to the NCAA Nationals for the first time in her career following the meet by way of a sixth-place finish in the all-around with a 39.225.

The meet is scheduled to begin at 6:00 p.m. (CT) and coverage of the meet will be available online at www.suutbirds.com.
Fri. Feb. 5
vs. Boise State
(L) 195.700 -196.250
Fri. Jan. 29
@ Utah State
(L) 195.250 -195.425
Fri. Jan. 22
vs. Utah State
(W) 195.275 -194.900
Fri. Jan. 15
vs. Utah
(L) 195.60 -196.725
Sat. Jan. 9
@ Denver & West Virginia
(-) 194.100
Mon. Nov. 23
vs. Red vs White
7:30pm
Fri. Feb. 12
vs. BYU & Sac State
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Michigan & UC Davis
7:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 27
@ Brigham Young
1:00pm
Fri. Mar. 4
@ California & Michigan State
8:00pm
Fri. Mar. 11
@ Boise State
TBA
Sat. Mar. 19
vs. Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
6:00pm
Sat. Apr. 2
vs. NCAA Regionals
TBA
Fri. Jan. 13
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 20
vs. Boise State
TBA
Twitter
Facebook