2015 Big Sky Champions
Kovar Claims Another Conference Award after Mt. SAC Hammer Finish
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/22/2014
Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah – April 22 – Senior thrower Kayla Kovar earned her second consecutive Big Sky Field Athlete of the Week award after an eighth-place finish in the hammer throw at the Mt. SAC Relays on Saturday. The award marks her sixth conference award of the 2014 season.

Kovar led the collegiate athletes in the hammer with a Southern Utah record-breaking toss of 216-9, moving up to a third-place Division I position. The California native also placed fifth in the shot put (52-0.5) and eighth in the discus (175-3). She currently leads the Big Sky Conference in all three events, with school record marks of 53-8.25 in the shot put (UNLV) and 178-1 in the discus (UC Riverside), in addition to her Mt. SAC hammer finish.

Kovar will spend the weekend at home as the Thunderbirds prepare to host Southern Utah’s annual high school championship, set to take place on Friday and Saturday at the Eccles Coliseum in Cedar City. Several of the multi athletes will represent the program in the BYU Invitational, which will take place Friday and Saturday in Provo, Utah.

Fri. Jan. 29
@ Mountain T's Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 29
@ UW Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Sat. Jan. 16
@ Lumberjack Team Challenge
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 15
@ Snake River Open/Multi
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Wed. Jun. 10
@ NCAA National Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Thu. May. 28
@ NCAA West Regional Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Don Kirby Elite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Husky Classic
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 19
@ NAU Tuneup
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Feb. 25
@ Big Sky Indoor Championships
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 11
vs. NCAA Indoor Nationals
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 18
@ UNLV Spring Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Mar. 24
@ UCR Spring Classic
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ Stanford Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ San Francisco
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook