Cam Bowerman header
Kovar Claims Another Conference Award after Mt. SAC Hammer Finish
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/22/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah – April 22 – Senior thrower Kayla Kovar earned her second consecutive Big Sky Field Athlete of the Week award after an eighth-place finish in the hammer throw at the Mt. SAC Relays on Saturday. The award marks her sixth conference award of the 2014 season.

Kovar led the collegiate athletes in the hammer with a Southern Utah record-breaking toss of 216-9, moving up to a third-place Division I position. The California native also placed fifth in the shot put (52-0.5) and eighth in the discus (175-3). She currently leads the Big Sky Conference in all three events, with school record marks of 53-8.25 in the shot put (UNLV) and 178-1 in the discus (UC Riverside), in addition to her Mt. SAC hammer finish.

Kovar will spend the weekend at home as the Thunderbirds prepare to host Southern Utah’s annual high school championship, set to take place on Friday and Saturday at the Eccles Coliseum in Cedar City. Several of the multi athletes will represent the program in the BYU Invitational, which will take place Friday and Saturday in Provo, Utah.

Wed. Jun. 11
@ NCAA National Championship
() Kovar (HT, DT, SP)
Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 9th
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
TBA
Fri. Jan. 9
@ BYU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ NAU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ NAU Mountain T's Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ ISU Mountain State Games
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ UW Invite
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Don Kirby
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Husky Classic
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App