Thunderbird Track & Field Duo Conclude Competition at Stanford
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 05/05/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
PALO ALTO, Calif. - Southern Utah University's Mike Tate set a season-best time at the Payton Jordan Invitational on Sunday night in the men's 1,500-meters while teammate Ryan Barrus did not finish in his heat of the men's 10,000-meters. Barrus' race was the final competition of the meet with the event wrapping up just after midnight.

Tate improved on his season-best time by finishing sixth in his section 5 heat with a time of 3:46.98. The time was just five seconds off first-place, ran by UTEP's Cosmas Boit, and only .44 seconds from the second-best time in SUU school history (3:46.54), recorded by Mark Wright in 1999.

Barrus did not finish in the men's 10,000-meters, his first race at that distance this season.

Southern Utah alum, Cam Levins, ran in the professional 10,000-meter heat and finished second behind Nike teammate and Mexican Olympian Juan Luis Barrios (27:34.40) with a time of 27:36.00. Levins continues to hold SUU's record in the event with a time of 27:27.96 set in 2012.

Thunderbird athletes will look to record final Big Sky qualifying marks when members of the team compete at the Weber State twilight meet on Wednesday.
Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 3rd
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet - CANCELED
() More Info
Fri. Apr. 25
@ BYU Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 18
@ Bryan Clay Invitational
() Results
Thu. Apr. 17
@ Mt. SAC Relays
() Results
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Pomona-Pitzer Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ San Francisco State Distance Carnival
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ Stanford Invitational
() Results
Thu. Mar. 27
@ UC Riverside Spring Track Classic
() Results
Fri. Mar. 14
@ NCAA Indoor National Championship
() Results
Fri. Mar. 7
@ UNLV Track Classic
() Results
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App