Deb Hill

James Cowser Earns Spot on 2014 CFPA Watch List

May 28, 2014
By SUU Strategic Communication

Related Links

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University's James Cowser has earned a spot on the 2014 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Awards Watch List.

"Congratulations to James Cowser on once again earning a spot on the CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Cowser was a stalwart defensive lineman for SUU in 2013."

Cowser earned second-team all-Big Sky and second-team Capital One Academic All-American honors last season, leading the team with 19 tackles for loss and 10.5 sacks. The totals ranked second in the Big Sky and No. 14 in the Football Championship Subdivision. Cowser also led all Thunderbird defensive linemen with 78 tackles.

Two SUU players have earned year-end honors from the CFPA: San Diego Chargers quarterback Brad Sorensen (2012 CFPA Elite Quarterback Award) and Arizona Rattlers WR Tysson Poots (2010 CFPA Elite Wide Receiver Award).

The initial watch list includes 38 defensive linemen, vying for the top defensive end and defensive tackle awards in the Football Championship Subdivision. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

Last season, Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston earned the CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy for the FBS, while Eastern Washington quarterback Vernon Adams earned the CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy.

CFPA Trophy winner and former South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney was the first overall selection in the 2014 NFL Draft.

The full list of 2014 CFPA winners will be announced January 14, 2015.