Sammy Cole Named Academic All-American
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 06/05/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - June 5 - Southern Utah University's Sammy Cole has picked up third-team academic All-American honors as announced by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). The 2014 Capital One Academic All-America Division I men's and women's at-large teams include student athletes from fencing, golf, gymnastics, ice hockey, lacrosse, rifle, skiing, swimming and diving, tennis and water polo.

Cole was eligible for the award after earning Academic All-District 8 honors in May with a perfect grade point average throughout his collegiate career. The junior, from Alisa Viejo, Calif., led the Thunderbirds with a 72.3 stroke average – the third-best mark in SUU history – this past season, when he had an SUU-best seven top-20 finishes, including a team-high four in the top-10. He closed the year very strong, with top-10 finishes in four of the team’s six spring tournaments. His season also left him with a 73.7 career stroke average, the second-best in school history.

Southern Utah University student-athletes have now garnered back-to-back academic All-American citations after Thunderbird gymnast Caitlin Kennedy was named to the second team in 2013.
Sat. Sep. 6
@ Gene Miranda Falcon Invitational
() 5th/16
Mon. Sep. 1
@ Battle in the Tetons
() 3rd/6
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. America Sky Championship
TBA
Mon. Apr. 7
vs. Cowboy Classic
TBA
Thu. Mar. 20
vs. Desert Shootout
TBA
Mon. Mar. 3
vs. Sacramento State Invitational
TBA
Mon. Oct. 6
@ Utah Invitational
TBA
Mon. Oct. 20
@ Bill Cullum Invitational
TBA
Mon. Feb. 9
vs. Pat Hicks Thunderbird Invitational
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate
TBA
Mon. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State Invitational
TBA
Thu. Mar. 19
@ Desert Shootout
TBA
Mon. Apr. 6
@ Cowboy Classic
TBA
Fri. Apr. 24
@ Cougar Classic
TBA
Mon. Apr. 27
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App