Cam Bowerman header
Kayla Kovar Garners Two Second-Team All-American Citations
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 06/16/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - June 16 - Southern Utah University's Kayla Kovar has garnered a pair of second-team All-American citations for her performances over the weekend at the NCAA National Championships as announced by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). The senior picked up the awards by way of her finishes in the hammer throw and discus over the weekend.

The Ridgecrest, Calif. native appeared in three events at the outdoor championships, one of only three athletes in the nation to compete in three separate individual events, and tallied her best finish in the women's hammer. Kovar recorded a mark of 204 feet five inches to finish 10th in the event for her first All-American citation. Her second All-American accolade came by way of a 13th-place finish in the women's discus, throwing a mark of an even 170 feet.

Kovar missed an All-American spot in the women's shot put after finishing 20th with a mark of 50 feet 10.25 inches. The distance was just under two feet short of a second-team finish and just under three feet of a first-team finish.
Wed. Jun. 11
@ NCAA National Championship
() Kovar (HT, DT, SP)
Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 9th
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
TBA
Fri. Jan. 9
@ BYU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ NAU Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ NAU Mountain T's Invitational
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ ISU Mountain State Games
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
@ UW Invite
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Don Kirby
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Husky Classic
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ NAU
2015 Indoor Track & Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App