Cam Bowerman header
Thunderbirds Finish Competition at World Junior Championships
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 07/26/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
EUGENE, Ore. - Southern Utah University track & field was represented by a pair of student-athletes at the 2014 World Junior Track & Field Championships this week. Sophomore Mike Tate ran for his native Canada and incoming freshman Istvan Szogi competed for his native Hungary.

Tate was the first to appear, running in the men's 1,500-meters and narrowly missed out on a spot in the finals, finishing fourth in his heat with a time of 3:48.59. The top three finishers qualified for the finals with a difference of .08 seconds separating Tate from a spot in the finals.

Szogi later competed in the men's 10k and 5k and was just off his personal-best pace (30:04.34) in the 10k, recording a top-third finish with a time of 30:15.93. He returned on Friday to compete in the 5k and ran a PR with a time of 14:11.35, a time that would appear No. 6 in Southern Utah's all-time record books.

Both Tate and Szogi are slated to compete for Southern Utah during the cross country season that is set to begin on Aug. 29 at Idaho State.
Thu. May. 29
@ NCAA West Preliminary Round
TBA
Wed. May. 14
@ Big Sky Outdoor Championship
() 3rd
Sat. May. 10
@ Oxy Invitational
() Results
Wed. May. 7
@ Weber State Twilight
() Canceled
Sun. May. 4
@ Payton Jordan Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 25
vs. SUU High School Meet - CANCELED
() More Info
Fri. Apr. 25
@ BYU Invitational
TBA
Fri. Apr. 18
@ Bryan Clay Invitational
() Results
Thu. Apr. 17
@ Mt. SAC Relays
() Results
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Pomona-Pitzer Invitational
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ San Francisco State Distance Carnival
() Results
Fri. Apr. 4
@ Stanford Invitational
() Results
Thu. Mar. 27
@ UC Riverside Spring Track Classic
() Results
Fri. Mar. 14
@ NCAA Indoor National Championship
() Results
Fri. Mar. 7
@ UNLV Track Classic
() Results
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App