2015 Big Sky Champions
Thunderbirds Finish Competition at World Junior Championships
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 07/26/2014
Print RSS
EUGENE, Ore. - Southern Utah University track & field was represented by a pair of student-athletes at the 2014 World Junior Track & Field Championships this week. Sophomore Mike Tate ran for his native Canada and incoming freshman Istvan Szogi competed for his native Hungary.

Tate was the first to appear, running in the men's 1,500-meters and narrowly missed out on a spot in the finals, finishing fourth in his heat with a time of 3:48.59. The top three finishers qualified for the finals with a difference of .08 seconds separating Tate from a spot in the finals.

Szogi later competed in the men's 10k and 5k and was just off his personal-best pace (30:04.34) in the 10k, recording a top-third finish with a time of 30:15.93. He returned on Friday to compete in the 5k and ran a PR with a time of 14:11.35, a time that would appear No. 6 in Southern Utah's all-time record books.

Both Tate and Szogi are slated to compete for Southern Utah during the cross country season that is set to begin on Aug. 29 at Idaho State.
Fri. Jan. 29
@ Mountain T's Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 29
@ UW Invite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Sat. Jan. 16
@ Lumberjack Team Challenge
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Jan. 15
@ Snake River Open/Multi
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Wed. Jun. 10
@ NCAA National Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Thu. May. 28
@ NCAA West Regional Championships
2015 Outdoor Track & Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Don Kirby Elite
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 12
@ Husky Classic
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Feb. 19
@ NAU Tuneup
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Feb. 25
@ Big Sky Indoor Championships
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 11
vs. NCAA Indoor Nationals
Indoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Mar. 18
@ UNLV Spring Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Thu. Mar. 24
@ UCR Spring Classic
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ UVU Invite
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Fri. Apr. 1
@ San Francisco
Outdoor Track and Field
TBA
Twitter
Facebook