MRGC Officially Recognized by the NCAA
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 08/13/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - The Mountain Rim Gymnastics Conference has been officially recognized by the NCAA, granting the conference full membership status.

The MRGC began competition in 2014 with member institutions Southern Utah, Boise State, BYU, Denver and Utah State with the anticipation for full membership beginning in the 2014-15 season. The 2014 championship meet was won by the University of Denver with a 196.925, but the rest of the field all finished within a point as Boise State finished second (196.900), SUU third (196.125), BYU fourth (196.100) and Utah State fifth (196.075).

All five teams advanced to the NCAA postseason - one of only two conferences in the nation to qualify each member institution to the postseason - with Boise State's Kelsey Morris and Ciera Perkins and Denver's Moriah Martin going on to represent the MRGC at the NCAA Nationals.

The official recognition by the NCAA will now change the status of the conference championship meet with the conference finale now counting as a postseason competition and allowing member institutions to begin official practices earlier than they have in the past. The MRGC will also look at launching a website prior to the beginning of the 2015 season.
Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Dec. 5
vs. Red v White Intersquad
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 9
@ Arizona State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 23
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Mon. Feb. 2
vs. Ball State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 6
vs. San Jose St.
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Utah State
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App