Basketball season tickets banner
SUU Basketball Standouts Continue Professional Careers
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 08/28/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah, Aug. 28 – Two recent members of the Southern Utah University men’s basketball program continue to have success in their professional careers. Damon Heuir is competing in his second season in the Queensland Basketball League in his home country of Australia, while Ray Jones Jr. recently signed with Realplus Lucenec of Slovakia for his third season of international play.

Heuir returned to the Mackay Meteors where he ranks second on the team in scoring with 15.2 points a game, while shooting 50 percent from the field, to go along with averages of 3.9 rebounds and 2.9 assists. His club recently captured a win over Brisbane in the QBL quarterfinals, a game in which the former SUU point guard recorded 14 points, six assists and three rebounds.

Heuir was an all-conference performer at Southern Utah, helping the Thunderbirds reach the Big Sky Tournament following the 2012-13 season. He averaged 15.5 points a game during his senior year and led the team with 96 assists. 

Jones returns to Slovakia for his third year as a professional where he will join Realplus Lucenec. Another standout SUU point guard, Jones began his career with the Slovakian club MBK Handlova before moving on to Germany last season to compete as a member of the Schwelmer Baskets and the Bramsche Red Devils.

Jones was named the SUU Male Athlete of the Year in 2011-12 after leading the Thunderbirds in assists, steals, field goal percentage and minutes played. 

Sat. Nov. 22
vs. Utah Valley
(L) 75 -85
Sun. Nov. 16
@ Miami (Oh)
(L) 63 -76
Fri. Nov. 14
@ Kansas State
(L) 68 -98
Sat. Nov. 8
vs. Arkansas-Fort Smith (Exhib.)
(L) 72 -73
Sat. Nov. 1
vs. San Diego Christian (Exhib.)
(W) 79 -57
Sat. Oct. 18
vs. Red vs. White Preview
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Nov. 26
vs. Eastern Kentucky
7:00 p.m.
Sun. Nov. 30
@ UTSA
11:00 a.m.
Sat. Dec. 6
vs. St. Katherine's
7:00 p.m.
Sun. Dec. 14
@ Boise State
4:30 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 19
@ Loyola Chicago
6:00 p.m.
Mon. Dec. 22
@ Arkansas Pine Bluff
Las Vegas Classic
1:00 p.m.
Tue. Dec. 23
@ South Carolina State or Abilene Christian
Las Vegas Classic
TBA
Sat. Dec. 27
@ UNLV
8:00 p.m.
Thu. Jan. 1
@ Portland State
8:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App